Arc Welding help...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Spinal

MB Enthusiast
Car
x254, G350, Duster, S320, Mach1, 900ss and a few more
I've done some welding in the past, but always OA, never arc. So a bit of a noob here.

I didn't want to spend the £200-£300 to get some cylinders for a small job, so bought a £50 arc welding kit on amazon.

It does 40-100amps, so for my panels (1.3-1.4mm thick according to my caliper) I'm using 1.6mm rods. Couldn't find anything smaller.

My issue is that at 40A the rods keep sticking and I'm struggling to get a puddle formed, but at 50-60amps, I'm blowing through.

Any ideas/advise/suggestions? (beyond get a torch or a mig welder :p)

M.

I suspect your difficulties lie in the inherent difficulty of arc welding thin sheet - hence the near universal adoption of MIG when it appeared. MIG is perfect at the gauge you are working with (with sub 1.0mm wire) and good enough to tackle up to 3.0mm - just.
Perhaps someone with arc experience (if such a person still exists) can advise on how to get better results with the stick but bear in mind that a MIG can be operated from a disposable cannister of gas priced at circa £25.
Do have a link to the vendor of your welder? (I may be in the market for a cheap stick welder - for 3mm work).

Would slightly thicker rods make the amps less critical ?

No help, but I could never get the hang of arc welding, but could do a reasonable job with gas.
Prolly teaching you to suck eggs but be REALLY careful of arceye - it can get you when you least expect it and it isn't much fun.

Clean the edges of the weld to be made and ensure the rods aren't damp. Even slightly damp!. A hot rod will arc far better than a cold damp one. 1.6 rods should be fine for what you're doing.

Dragging the rod tip along also helps start an arc going rather than just plunging in there.