Audi A6 Avant 3.0 Bi TDi Quattro Black Edition

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Bobby Dazzler

MB Master
SUPPORTER
Car
Smart ForFour AMG Black Series Night Edition Premium Plus 125 Powered by Brabus
I've referred to it in one or two other threads, but last month I took delivery of a brand new Audi A6. It's the twin turbo model, with all wheel drive, and is good for 313PS. Black Edition means it comes without chrome and has huge wheels!

I've been threatening to buy a new car for 5 years or more, in order to comply with company car policy on emissions, age and mileage, but have managed to get away with non-compliance. I couldn't push my luck any longer and so this year I bit the bullet.

What started out looking for an Audi A1 with the smallest Diesel engine ended up with an Audi A6 Avant with the biggest Diesel engine! Along the way I was very tempted by a Tesla, Leaf, and A45/CLA45 AMG.

Considering new cars, the closest match for the C32 AMG it will replace came down to just two cars: this Audi and the Alpina B5. Subtle but sharp on the outside, fast but able to cruise, generously specked on the inside.

A good deal and all wheel drive counted in favour of the Audi; a car park full of 520d and high insurance premiums counted against the Alpina. So a tricky decision was made much easier, and the Audi won.

So how would I describe the car? Quick, sure footed, very well put together. In short I would say it's "deeply capable" but it will never have the soul, or be able to stir the emotions in the same way that the C32 AMG can - now that's a car!

Here are a few photos:

bobby-dazzler-albums-audi-a6-picture8848-image.jpg

bobby-dazzler-albums-audi-a6-picture8849-image.jpg

Nice - I do wish AMG's were a bit more macho - that looks great and it's a diesel :mad:.

Looks lovely!