Background programmes waiting to close?

Discussion in 'PC and I.T support/Advice posts' started by Palfrem, Jul 29, 2011.

  1. Palfrem

    Palfrem Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,957
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Solihull, near Birmingham
    Car:
    W124 E36 AMG, G 300 GEL his, SLK 200 hers
    A while back I bought a Sony Vaio desktop (the one with all the gubbins in the monitor case) and generally I'm happy with the performance.

    When I shut it down it hangs for several minutes with "waiting for background programmes to close - force shut-down yes / no"

    Any ideas what could be running please as I have never had any of this wth previous PC's or laptops.

    I've dumped a load of Sony bloat-ware and other pre-installed junk, but I can't figure out what could be taking so long to close as I close all programmes ( Thunderbird, IE, Word, etc.) before shutting down.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. clever dicky

    clever dicky Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    421
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Car:
    Jag
    Could be windows itself or some programs are tsr and also many nowadays are programmed to stay in touch with base and 'check for updates' and other stuff.
    Have a look in you run directory in the registry, and also go through task manager and see whats lurking there.
     
    2 people like this.
  3. jepho

    jepho Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    210
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Car:
    W203 C220 CDI Coupe
    Ugh! TSR ;)
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Palfrem

    Palfrem Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,957
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Solihull, near Birmingham
    Car:
    W124 E36 AMG, G 300 GEL his, SLK 200 hers
    Sorry - what's TSR please?
     
  5. whitenemesis

    whitenemesis MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    15,981
    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Car:
    Lexus RC300h F-Sport 2019
    Terminate and Stay Resident?
     
  6. Dryce

    Dryce MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    6,891
    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Car:
    ..
    Terminate and Stay Resident

    Type of program that used to run under DOS. You ran it and it would set itself up and then appear to terminate (the command line prompt would reappear) but would actually keep running.

    Eg. Borland Sidekick (SideKick - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia)

    DOS networking stuff often ran this way.

    It technically died out with multitasking capability. But there's a lot of services and software that gets started automatically under Windows (eg. the icons on the bottom right). They're the modern equivalent of TSRs. Sitting there usually unoticed but sometimes causing prolems.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Palfrem

    Palfrem Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,957
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Solihull, near Birmingham
    Car:
    W124 E36 AMG, G 300 GEL his, SLK 200 hers
    Sorry whitenemesis, I'm none the wiser.
     
  8. Stratman

    Stratman Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,568
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Sunbury
    Car:
    W203 C200 CDI '04Estate
    Under Windows more than one programme or application can be running at the same time, for example I have Outlook, Internet Explorer and anti virus running now. The buzzword is multitasking. Under DOS you could only have one application running. Some clever so-and-sos worked out how to fool DOS into believing their application had terminated (so another could be run) but stayed resident in memory and ran in the background.
     
  9. balge

    balge Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    827
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Location:
    Central England
    Car:
    Mercedes-Benz W124
    Hi
    it could be some of that Sony stuff you took off?
    You could try a 'three finger salute' (control-alt-delete) and see if any processes are listed as running while it's shutting down?
    If you look in Event Viewer is there any issues listed from the last shutdown?

    cheers!
     
  10. jepho

    jepho Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    210
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Car:
    W203 C220 CDI Coupe
    I worked at a place recently where, confusingly, the ol' Vulcan Nerve Pinch was required to log on. :D
     
  11. dulayj

    dulayj Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    539
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Location:
    Near Winchester
    Car:
    A 210/Volvo XC90
    Try ccleaner-piriform limited-clean out the junk-otherwise a free trial of system mechanic-will enable you to look at bloat ware and turn off programmes you dont need.
    Incidentally which windows operating system-hope not vista unless you have at least 2GB memory min
     
  12. John

    John MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    11,676
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Location:
    Daan Saaf
    Car:
    I wish.
    In my experience, the system is waiting for a service(s) to stop - of which your machine will have many starting and are used by all sorts of things for various functions. You have core Windows services and additional services added by software (like antivirus).

    When closing down, these are all attempted to be stopped.

    Normally it is one which takes longer than Windows thinks it should take and it offers you up a chance to kill the one causing an issue.

    If there are more than one, you get your experience.

    I would begin by starting the machine, leaving it on for 5 minutes to do everything it needs to, don't start anything or use it for anything, then shut it down and see what you get...
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Palfrem

    Palfrem Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,957
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Solihull, near Birmingham
    Car:
    W124 E36 AMG, G 300 GEL his, SLK 200 hers
    Many thanks to everyone.

    It's a high end machine with bags of spare whizz to do pretty much anything.

    I think I'll go with JEBoy and see what shows up.
     
  14. John

    John MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    11,676
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Location:
    Daan Saaf
    Car:
    I wish.
    What I said is not a fix btw - you are basically trying to isolate what it is that is causing it.

    If you start it, don't use anything and shut the machine down, and it still does it, you know it is something(s) that starts with the machine and runs by itself (like antivirus or those other crapware items which are running near the clock).

    If it is fine, then it is most likely something you are using.

    My guess is it will do it after doing nothing as per above.

    Meanwhile, if you know when you last shut the machine down, have a look in Event Viewer (START > RUN > EVENTVWR) within the SYSTEM and APPLICATION logs at around that time and see if anything errored or complained (normally red cross by them).
     
    1 person likes this.
  15. OP
    OP
    Palfrem

    Palfrem Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,957
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Solihull, near Birmingham
    Car:
    W124 E36 AMG, G 300 GEL his, SLK 200 hers
    It shut down without the usual dialogue.

    Loads of red in the event viewer:- printer stuff, assigning network address, some media player crap, crash dump initialisation failed is a regular, and many more
     
  16. balge

    balge Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    827
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Location:
    Central England
    Car:
    Mercedes-Benz W124
    Has the PC used more than one printer, or a network printer or drive which is no longer connected? Check 'Device manager' for missing hardware.
    Try updating your network card drivers too

    For the crash dump message, try - Control Panel\System - Click on "Advanced System Settings" on the left
    Click 'Advanced'
    Under "Startup and Recovery" select "Settings"
    Make sure you have a check mark beside "Write an event to the system log"
    From the dropdown select 'Small memory dump'- then 'ok' your way out
    (I always turn off 'Automatic restart' too )

    Did the message mention which media player?

    cheers
     
  17. John

    John MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    11,676
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Location:
    Daan Saaf
    Car:
    I wish.
    If it has shut down without a problem, it might then be something you are using.

    Personally, I wouldn't bother solving the issues in red at this stage because these events are occurring and the machine was able to shutdown without an issue after the test.

    I would jot down the time you did this shutdown test so you have a reference point to look back at.

    You now want the issue to occur so you can look in the Event Viewer and compare then against your previous jotted-down time events to see if there is a 'new' event in there which might give us a clue.

    You don't need to look at hundreds of events - if you shutdown the machine at say 18:00 (use the clock on that PC to write the time down from), you are looking from then until the time it came up with the dopey error which should be within 30 seconds I would have thought.

    Don't forget to look in SYSTEM and APPLICATION.

    What I would try next is use the machine as normal and when you next get the issue you raised initially, don't force it to shutdown (i.e. cancel the shutdown and return to the desktop) and then do a:

    CTRL + SHIFT + ESC

    ...or right click on the Taskbar at the bottom and start Task Manager.

    Have a look in the first tab (Applications) and see what is in there.

    Hopefully you will see one or more things with 'Not responding' by them.

    If not, look under Processes and just order in CPU time (click on the CPU heading to sort). If 'System Idle Process' is not 99, what other items are using a lot (things that use a lot of processor time either need to or have crashed - chances are when you are shutting down, it's not the former!).

    Then do the Event Viewer check.

    This will give us a clue what is not able to close.

    What Operating System are you running?
     
    1 person likes this.
  18. OP
    OP
    Palfrem

    Palfrem Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,957
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Solihull, near Birmingham
    Car:
    W124 E36 AMG, G 300 GEL his, SLK 200 hers
    Windows 7
     
  19. John

    John MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    11,676
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Location:
    Daan Saaf
    Car:
    I wish.
    In that case - you will need to press the button in Task Manager which has 'Show processes from all users' written on it to see 'System Idle Process'.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.