Backing up a Home Network Drive

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

greggster

Car
CLK W209 500 Elegance
Hi all, i am going mad:crazy:

I have an Iomega media drive at home (essentially a mini server) which i have all of my files on - music, photos, files etc. About 55GB in all.

I want to back this up daily and have been around the houses so much for the last few days my brain aches. So far;
  • looked at on line back up - too expensive. Found one cheap one but was in the US, never heard of them etc etc :devil:
  • then looked into backing it up onto my main desktop C drive. On advice of Iomega i downloaded Retrospect 7.7 software which enabled me to back up onto my C Drive only its so complicated i can't find the files, it didn't seem to back up the full 55GB and i can't even find out how to "schedule" back ups. Basically it is for pro's and i am not an IT pro!!:wallbash:
  • looked into using my WD external hard drive unit which has back up software on it but it doesn't support networked drives:crazy:
  • thought about replacing the network drive with a double disc type but the thought of setting it all up again on 4 computers .....:eek:
Someone please help me with a good, cheapish, easy idea!! Thanks.

Can't you map it as a local drive, and then use microsoft backup?

Find the drive on the network - usually under my network or something similar. IIRC you then right click the folder you see, an select add network drive. This will automatically suggest a drive letter - E:, f: G:. etc.

Go to start/run, and type backup in the box - this will start the backup program (free with all windows)

Or something similar to that.....

In unix its really easy.

thanks Ted, sounds good but maybe not so automatic as i am after - i'm so busy i need something automatic that informs me daily when its backed up overnight?