Becker Content Manager

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by EddyBryan, Feb 9, 2019.

  1. EddyBryan

    EddyBryan New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Location:
    Scotland
    Car:
    Smart
    Having a Becker Traffic Assist which is right up to date with European maps, I'd like to change this Becker Traffic Assist Z201 for another one because it now fails to detect any satellites - here in Scotland, or in the Canaries. However, before doing so I need to know if Content Manager (on which I've also done full backups) will accept a replacement unit. Can anyone advise/help me, please?
    I simply don't want to buy another unit, only to find that I need to re-purchase all the maps again.
     
  2. 400ixl

    400ixl Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    978
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Location:
    Norfolk UK
    Car:
    E250 AMG Sport Convertible
    I would email Becker. I believe by default they won't transfer, but Becker can make it so they will apply to the new unit and not to the old.

    Although that was for an OEM becker module, don't know if it applies to a separate unit, but should be similar.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    EddyBryan

    EddyBryan New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Location:
    Scotland
    Car:
    Smart
    Thanks for replying, Stu. I did try and contact Becker, but unfortunately it seems to have gone into liquidation and enquiries are non-responsive. Also unsuccessfully tried another branch of Becker, hence my search for someone who may have gone through the process of changing unit on their CM account. It looks as if I may need to ditch the Z201 with all accessories, but shall attack it with a soldering iron in case there's a dry joint or loose connection.
    Found the CoPilot EU app splendid with my Xperia XZ Premium in Lanzarote, being very visible in bright sunlight and clear in many ways... so may just resort to that in future.
    Thanks again for all your help: it's much appreciated, irrespective.
     
  4. nickpb

    nickpb Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    192
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Car:
    S213 E-Class Estate. Hyacinth Red
    When I had a Becker Map Pilot some years ago I had a faulty unit that was replaced by the garage. Although I had a backup for all the speed cameras (that I'd paid for) I couldn't get them to transfer to the new. I contacted Becker who were really helpful (NOT!!) and told me it was not possible to transfer them and that I would have to pay to download them again.

    IIRC I saved my old backup somewhere safe then did a backup of the new unit and managed to merge the old backup code into the new backup and restored it from there. I'm afraid I can't remember exactly how I did it now as it was about 3 years ago, but it is possible.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    EddyBryan

    EddyBryan New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Location:
    Scotland
    Car:
    Smart
    Thanks for that, Nick: I can well imagine Becker's response, having had same in the past. "Insolvency proceedings were opened in April 2017 regarding the assets of United Navigation GmbH, the manufacturer of your Becker or Falk device": that does not help me now as Becker (or its associated units) fail to help whatsoever. Have just successfully "restored" one of my Content Manager backups onto a USB stick, so it may be possible to execute that same operation with a replacement second-hand Becker Z201 (or Z205) unit. I may consider doing that if there's a cheapo out there. Irrespective, thanks again folks.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.