Becker GAL expert needed

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by mercedesmart, Aug 18, 2011.

  1. mercedesmart

    mercedesmart New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Good afternoon ,

    I have a Becker Indianapolis ( which I may sell soon ) it works fine with the GAL system - speed sensor .


    I have just removed it and installed a Becker Cascade :) but I cannot get the GAL to work . It is just plug and play so there should be no issue . I am going to remove / reset and start again but wonder if it may be software related . I am running software v2.5 at present .

    Has anybody got any ideas

    Thanks

    Martin
     
  2. GP801

    GP801 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,881
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Location:
    Sussex and Tuscany
    Car:
    2003 W209 CLK, 2005 R171 SLK in UK, 1995 S124 E280 in Italy
    On our cascade there is an option to disable the GAL. It works very well without it and this is how we have ours set up. Its somewhere in the navigation settings menus but I cant remember where and the car is currently in Italy. Ours is running V3.6 software but not sure if this is relevant. I have a manual somewhere so if I can find it I will post the process to disable it.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    mercedesmart

    mercedesmart New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Many thanks . In my booklet it shows details but not in the navigation menu so I am wondering if it may be software related .

    Anyway , if you get chance to find the info it may well help
     
  4. bolide

    bolide Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,726
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Location:
    Brighton
    Car:
    BMW E39 525 Diesel Touring
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2011
  5. GP801

    GP801 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,881
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Location:
    Sussex and Tuscany
    Car:
    2003 W209 CLK, 2005 R171 SLK in UK, 1995 S124 E280 in Italy
    Found it. Call up the service menu - On ours by pressing the info and nav buttons together. You should then be able to scroll down to an entry called GAL Signal to turn it on or off. This might be software dependent but I am not sure. It will need a calibration run once it has been deactivated. Have run ours for years without GAL with no problems at all.
     
  6. High-Lo

    High-Lo Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,798
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Location:
    Kent
    Car:
    2013 X166 Mercedes GL350, Porsche 911 Carrera 4 Cabriolet, Porsche 968 Cabriolet
    Need some help with my Becker Indianapolis. Anyone tried to calibrate one of these without connecting up the speed signal and reverse signal? I've been driving around for about 20 mins and the Calibration doesn't seem to finish. I'm getting between 8-9 SATs showing constantly.

    Any ideas?

    Cheers,
    Steve
     
  7. jjrodger

    jjrodger Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    121
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    By coincidence I have just installed an Indianapolis 7920 in my 126. I couldn't get it to calibrate without the speed signal. I had to have a pro do that but it didn't take him long. What I would like to know is the frequency of the speed pulses. I am also pretty unimpressed by the map coverage.
     
  8. High-Lo

    High-Lo Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,798
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Location:
    Kent
    Car:
    2013 X166 Mercedes GL350, Porsche 911 Carrera 4 Cabriolet, Porsche 968 Cabriolet
    Which version of the maps do you have?

    I'm going to get a pro to do mine too. I like it otherwise :)
     
  9. jjrodger

    jjrodger Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    121
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Version 6.

    Oop North where I am it only seems to have trunk roads in it. It didn't have the streets of Newcastle in there. Maybe it needs reloading.

    The installer charged me £35 to connect up to the speed pulse.
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. jjrodger

    jjrodger Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    121
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Solved the coverage issue: being a total moron I had used the wrong disc. It now strikes me as pretty good. I have also used 48 as the value for pulses per revolution for my speed pulse settings and this does not seem to have upset it.
     
  11. El Donkey

    El Donkey New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Car:
    C200 Sport 99, C320 sport 08, TVR chimaera, KTM 690
    I have a Becker indianapolis (not a pro version).

    Is it correct you cannot turn off the Gal unless it is a pro model so therefore need a signal input from the car to make the satnav work?

    If so, is there one on a W202 97 C280 ?

    I need to understand this before investing in a GPS ant and maps.

    can anyone assist?

    Thanks
     
  12. jjrodger

    jjrodger Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    121
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    I think it will work without the speed pulse. Anyway, your car will have one either at the back of the speedo or at the cruise control ECU.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.