Best place to buy alcohol?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

marty359

Car
BMW 330d with indicators and Jeep Renegade also with indicators
I dont drink alcohol but I need enough beer and wine for 40 guests over in Italy for 1 night.The cars going on a train all the way to Livorno so I can fill it with beer but wheres the cheapest place to buy it?

Sainsburys and Tescos seem to be doing some good deals at the moment or is there still good deals to be had at Calais hypermarket type thingys? Last time we went to Florence bottled beer was 5 Euros so I wont be buying it there:eek:We've got an unlimited free American bar for 5 hours for the guests on the wedding night but they wont supply just the beer and wine for the night before without having a fully staffed bar brought in.

Any ideas? the people sorting stuff out over there just say buy it from the supermarket.

I work in the Off Trade and can confirm that supermarkets often offer stupidly cheap prices on beer and wine.

This is usually to get you into the store and is very often sold at a loss vs. normal trade price. The reason for this is retro-bonus. Instead of taking a cash bonus for hitting volume targets they take stock and turn it into cash and draw you into the store to buy your weekly shop.

Keep an eye on Costco too as their promotions can also be worth taking advantage of. You will need membership or need to know someone who is a member.

If the car is going direct to Livorno, will you get the chance to fill it at Calais ?

i see your comments about 5 euros per bottle, i presume you are talking about bar prices.
my advice would be this:-
go to a supermarket when you get there. you need to go wherever the locals go ;)
we went to a supermarket in may there (in florence), i cant find the receipt for the address but we think the chain was a "crai". iirc we bought a bucketload of pop, wine, beer, fruit etc and spent 40 euro's, it was the one with an underground car park.