Best power gains CLK 230k

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Zig89

Car
Mercedes Clk 230 Sport Kompressor
:dk:What is the way to increase BHP on the 230 kompressor engines..?/

I'm no expert but I would imagine the following:
1) changing fueling via re chipping the ECU +cams
2) improving exhaust flow

But - this might cost much more and be less reliable than getting a 320 or 350 CLK:dk:

Best power gains are from a crank/supercharger pulley coupled with some airflow/exhaust mods and software tuning.

The pulley kit should increase the power output by 30-40bhp. Depending on which pulley kit you get a change of fuel regulator, injectors and spark plugs may be required.

Set aside a grand for the parts and work and you might get a tiny bit of change left over.

I'd be reading the most interesting thread on here about M271 engines... I think a lot is relevant.

I think the upshot is get a car with more horsepowers :doh:

I would love to get a 320 or a 250 but only just bein 21 insurance will be a killa.

wheres a good site to get parts like the Crank pulleys etc?
Ive had a quote to get a ECU chip for £235 n they claim that will add n extra 12 bhp is that really worth it?

Baron is spot on, don't waste your money trying to screw performance out of a 230k engine makes more sense to by a CLK 430 or 55. My 230k is modded as you know with the Brabus K1S pack which includes pulley change, larger intercooler, and Brabus exhaust. It's definitely quicker than a standard car but for the Brabus pack its something like £3.5k so I'm glad it was on my car when I bought it. Start talking about fuel regulators and injectors and you can add another grand to the bill.

A lot of people talk about 30 - 40 bhp gains, In reality you'll be looking at 15 - 20 bhp although the car does feel quicker and is more responsive lower down the rev range so driveability is definitely improved.