Blackvue & ODB Power

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

fredfox

Car
C 2018
I used to have a blackvue dashcam that ran for 4 years, which worked out on average of 50 minute a day (over the 4 years) before it died. I replaced it with a "cheap" cam that never was as good quality wise either at day or night.

I finally decided on getting another Blackvue but I wasn't looking forward to messing around with hard-wiring it again, and then I found this https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07FM1DTTV/?tag=amazon0e9db-21 Which plugs straight into the ODB port, turns the camera on when I start the car and turns off about 2 minutes after stopping the car. I've not tried the Parking Mode, but I've never used it on any camera I've had before, I may try it when I'm at home next. It keeps running when start / stop kicks in as well.

I'll find out how well it works over the next couple of weeks but it's looking quite promising!

Hi there, I tried the blackvue ODB2 connector on my w222 sclass earlier this year when installing the DR900s 2CH (front & rear)

It never worked as expected, when I flipped the switch to constant off it never powered down so I could never turn it off parking mode it was always on. I know you could pull the wire out of the camera but doing this constantly could damage the camera. I wanted parking mode but only when I was parking away from home, so when I park it in my garage at home I wanted turn it off.

I worked with Blackvue in Korea for over a month, they sent me 3 different ODB2 connectors but in the end they couldnt get it to shutdown using the manual switch.

So I decided on a different solution, a separate blackvue battery mounted in the boot which plugged directly into the 12volt connection on the boot. I added a switch under the dash on the drivers side where I can manually turn off the camera when I dont want it recording like parked in my garage.