booting problem when cold

Discussion in 'PC and I.T support/Advice posts' started by splang, Nov 24, 2004.

  1. splang

    splang MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,046
    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Car:
    W212 E250 Avantgarde
    Hi all,

    When i try to boot up my computer it will often just turn off just after it giets into windows or perhaps as it is still loading or perhaps just as it enters the POST thingy at the start ....

    This only happens when the temp in the room is 18 degrees C or below ....

    Any suggestions as to what it may be? I have had a search around the internet and it seems it might be a dodgy solder in the circuit board which expands to meet when warm ....

    To restart the computer each time i need to physically remove the power cable for 4 seconds or more then i can try to boot again.
    It typically takes about 4/5 boots before the computer seems to warm up and then all is well - until the next cold morning!!

    Cheers

    Steve

    Asrock k7s41
    XP 3000+
    1gig ram
    xp +sp2
    9800pro
    thanks
    :rolleyes:
     
  2. Maff

    Maff MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,485
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Location:
    Henley-on-Thames
    I've had a similar thing happen to me before when the PSU (Power supply) was on it's way out. Got a new one for £5 from ebuyer and never happened again.

    Mine also had a side effect of it 'appearing' to power on, but the screen just stayed blank.
     
  3. McGreggor

    McGreggor Active Member

    Messages:
    317
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    Uckfield
    Car:
    CLS55 AMG
    My first instinct would be the Power Supply too, as your having to pull the power cable for it to reset. I'd recommend you buy a psu thats half decent though, some of these cheapy jobbies can be very loud, and I bought a 500W psu for £20, but I couldn't plug in more than 4 hard drives without it tripping all the time!
     
  4. McGreggor

    McGreggor Active Member

    Messages:
    317
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    Uckfield
    Car:
    CLS55 AMG
    My first instinct would be the Power Supply too, as your having to pull the power cable for it to reset. I'd recommend you buy a psu thats half decent though, some of these cheapy jobbies can be very loud, and I bought a 500W psu for £20, but I couldn't plug in more than 4 hard drives without it tripping all the time!
     
  5. OP
    OP
    splang

    splang MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,046
    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Car:
    W212 E250 Avantgarde
    Thanks for that - oh dear - It is a new PSU (well, newish ) I'd better return it to the shop (thanks all).

    Strange how it only does it when cold ?!
     
  6. Sp!ke

    Sp!ke Administrator

    Messages:
    12,234
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Location:
    West London
    Car:
    SL500 & The Fart Car
    How many watts is the PSU and how much stuff are you hanging off the PC?

    Even a basic spec PC I'd suggest at least a 350w PSU to gain a stable power supply. If your running something high end with lots of drives and periferals hanging out of each orifice then +650w would be my advice.

    Often I see PC's with 150W or 200W PSU's... the result being a less than stable machine.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    splang

    splang MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,046
    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Car:
    W212 E250 Avantgarde
    Yeah , i used to have a 350W but now i moved up to a 450W which i think should be plenty - only 1 dvdrw and 2 hdd and the equipment as listed above in first post?
     
  8. SEM

    SEM MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,001
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Tamworth, Staffs
    Car:
    2007 C220 CDi SPORT & E350 Coupe Sport
    How olds the PC.. I've not heard this for a while, but didnt they call it chip creak. where the machine would have to warm up before contacts were made??
     
  9. OP
    OP
    splang

    splang MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,046
    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Car:
    W212 E250 Avantgarde
    oh, err, probably just under a year old - bought it on ebay :)
     
  10. guydewdney

    guydewdney MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,903
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Location:
    Porlock, Zomerzet
    Car:
    906 Sprinter 313cdi
    pull all the removeable bits - from ram to processor and re-insert? free and easy.

    also give the thing a hoover.. its amazing how much dirst gets in these things.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    splang

    splang MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,046
    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Car:
    W212 E250 Avantgarde
    thanks - thats a very good idea - will do !
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.