Bought an R129 unseen - a Cautionary Tale...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

E55BOF

Hardcore MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Car
CLS63 SB, SLK55, CLK350 'Vert, Triumph Sprint (Bike not Dolly...),
I picked up my R129 on Monday; well, I say I, but in fact it was a recovery truck. I will explain…

(Picture of the car down below, and a question; according to the data sheet the paint code is 199 (SchwarzBlau), but I’m beginning to wonder. Can anyone identify the colour? It’s noticeably lighter than Tanzanite, if that helps.

I agreed to buy this car in June (lovely car, runs beautifully, you will not be disappointed, only faults seat bolster, small rust blemish one wheel arch, crack in rear window but spare pristine hardtop same colour, commercial sale by Trade Car Centre Bradford), after the Ebay sale fell through, and paid 60% of the agreed price as a deposit (Mug? Oooooooh yes – but read on), but due to my personal circumstances was not ready to collect it until late August. In the meantime, I arranged for the engine wiring loom to be checked; yes, eco-junk decomposing wiring, so asked the Tw4t with whom I dealt to send it to Sileck in Kent to have it rebuilt. It took him five weeks to do it. An omen?

He’s a hard man to contact – several calls before I get a reply. Another omen?

Wiring loom on by 12 October; ‘still a slight misfire’, but he would have the plugs changed. Fair enough; I took new distributor caps and rotors up with me, just in case. I told him that I would come up on Monday morning (19 October) to take the car and drive home, and to have it ready for me.