BT Infinity Smart Hub (Home Hub 6)

BTB 500

MB Club Veteran
SUPPORTER
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
19,376
Location
Berkshire
Car
R129 SL500, W639 Vito 120, S203 C230
Anybody using one of these successfully?

I have a Hub 4 at the moment which works OK apart from the wifi sometimes struggling to cope with the endless tablets/phones that the kids and wife use.

BT sent me a new Smart Hub (Hub 6) but from a quick Google there seem to have been a steady stream of issues with the firmware. Of course you tend to see just the problems when searching online ... so is anybody here happily using a Smart Hub?

TIA :)
 

ash59fifty-uk

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Aug 9, 2015
Messages
3,817
Location
The shire
Car
C204 C63, VW Transporter
Not sure which mine is but it constantly throws my phone off wifi, really at my wits end with it!
 

whitenemesis

MB Club Veteran
SUPPORTER
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
17,502
Car
Lexus RC300h F-Sport 2019
Been using the HH6 for ages now without a single issue. Laptops, phones, tv, AV amp, DVD player and set-top box all connected without problem. Fast and stable connection, even at the bottom of our garden
 

zipdip

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Joined
Mar 5, 2015
Messages
3,227
Location
Essex
Car
s320
I have been using it for the last two months,it is fast and stable,before that I was without a phone line for 1 month,and the good people next door allowed me to use their BT hub and the speed and connection was fine and we have detached houses,I have used Sky and TalkTalk before but this BT Hub is the most powerfull.
 

alzieboy

Active Member
SUPPORTER
Joined
Nov 2, 2013
Messages
805
Location
over the Rainbow
Car
E350CDI Coupe
Have been having problems also with HH6, unstable, dropping out etc, done a factory reset on the Hub , so far so good for the last seven days :thumb:
 

ph47mf

Active Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2016
Messages
553
Location
Midlands
Car
BMW 335D GT xdrive M-Sport
I was with BT a while back and the connection kept dropping. It's much better now with Virgin, 200mb :bannana:
 

roger574

Active Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
107
Location
South Wales
Car
W210 E55 AMG
I have an HH6 for a few months now and it's been completely stable since I separated the 2.4GHz and 5GHz networks onto two SSIDs. Before that the WiFi would drop out every few days.
 

Druk

Gone but not forgotten - RIP
Joined
May 28, 2004
Messages
5,300
Location
Not far from Edinburgh.
Car
2011 S212 E350CDi. 1981 R107 300TurboDiesel.
Anybody using one of these successfully?

I have a Hub 4 at the moment which works OK apart from the wifi sometimes struggling to cope with the endless tablets/phones that the kids and wife use.

BT sent me a new Smart Hub (Hub 6) but from a quick Google there seem to have been a steady stream of issues with the firmware. Of course you tend to see just the problems when searching online ... so is anybody here happily using a Smart Hub?

TIA :)

Bill.
Did you request the 6 because your connection was bad or did they volunteer to send it? At what cost? I have a 5 on Infinity and I'm not happy with the range. Works OK if it's upstairs or if it's downstairs but won't cover both from either position. So I have a TP Link set-up but that's not really ideal.
 
OP
OP
BTB 500

BTB 500

MB Club Veteran
SUPPORTER
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
19,376
Location
Berkshire
Car
R129 SL500, W639 Vito 120, S203 C230
Thanks for the feedback guys - appreciated.
 
OP
OP
BTB 500

BTB 500

MB Club Veteran
SUPPORTER
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
19,376
Location
Berkshire
Car
R129 SL500, W639 Vito 120, S203 C230
Bill.
Did you request the 6 because your connection was bad or did they volunteer to send it? At what cost? I have a 5 on Infinity and I'm not happy with the range. Works OK if it's upstairs or if it's downstairs but won't cover both from either position. So I have a TP Link set-up but that's not really ideal.

I was haggling with them about renewing and basically got a Smart Hub (HH6) for the £9.99 delivery charge as well as a reduction from £29 to £26 per month for the Infinity 1 itself (and a year's caller id display for free).

We have the current HH4 downstairs and the signal is a bit marginal upstairs, funnily enough Apple devices (iPhones and iPads) seem worse ... our Android phones and Kindles mostly work OK. We do have a WiFi repeater upstairs which worked fine for about a year but is rather hit and miss now.

The BT Infinity itself has been pretty decent, reliable connection and speeds around 50 mbps most of the time which is fast enough for what we need.
 

Druk

Gone but not forgotten - RIP
Joined
May 28, 2004
Messages
5,300
Location
Not far from Edinburgh.
Car
2011 S212 E350CDi. 1981 R107 300TurboDiesel.
I was haggling with them about renewing and basically got a Smart Hub (HH6) for the £9.99 delivery charge as well as a reduction from £29 to £26 per month for the Infinity 1 itself (and a year's caller id display for free).

We have the current HH4 downstairs and the signal is a bit marginal upstairs, funnily enough Apple devices (iPhones and iPads) seem worse ... our Android phones and Kindles mostly work OK. We do have a WiFi repeater upstairs which worked fine for about a year but is rather hit and miss now.

The BT Infinity itself has been pretty decent, reliable connection and speeds around 50 mbps most of the time which is fast enough for what we need.

This is pretty much what I'm paying including the free caller ID. I'd be interested to hear if the HH6 makes any difference to your signal upstairs. Our TP Link is great but since we have almost no cell signal I use it for wifi calling. PITA having to log in to different signals just because I move from upstairs to down.
 
OP
OP
BTB 500

BTB 500

MB Club Veteran
SUPPORTER
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
19,376
Location
Berkshire
Car
R129 SL500, W639 Vito 120, S203 C230
I'll let you know what happens. When the repeater isn't working we normally have one of my step-sons sitting on the stairs all evening (where they can get a signal) :D

When the HH6 came out it seems the Access Control (restricting when individual devices can access the Internet) didn't work at all. That would have been a major problem for us as we use it heavily with the kids. Supposedly that's fixed now, it seems there have been a large number of firmware releases in the last few months.
 

ash59fifty-uk

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Aug 9, 2015
Messages
3,817
Location
The shire
Car
C204 C63, VW Transporter
BTB 500 said:
You can normally tell from the Wifi network name e.g. our current one is "BTHub4-....".

Ah mine is a 4 then. I've gotta say, this thread has jinxed me, since last night it has been atrocious, to the point I've disabled it on my phone. It's never been this bad

Although I've been watching Amazon prime on wifi and it's fine, even as I type the phone can't connect yet the tv is working fine

Do you think if I rang and give them an earful I'd get an upgrade? I don't mind paying if it fixes connectivity issues
 

kid-jensen

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 16, 2002
Messages
1,236
Location
Epsom Downs
Car
ML 320 W164
Been using one fro about 2 months, bought on ebay.

No problems at all, and the range is definately better than the HH5.

Not a lot though..
 
OP
OP
BTB 500

BTB 500

MB Club Veteran
SUPPORTER
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
19,376
Location
Berkshire
Car
R129 SL500, W639 Vito 120, S203 C230
Do you think if I rang and give them an earful I'd get an upgrade? I don't mind paying if it fixes connectivity issues

It's worth a try. On the BT Forums the Smart Hub comes in for some serious stick though, which is why I was asking here how people had got on. Some people are apparently on their third or fourth, with previous ones lasting only weeks (even days). I'll certainly be hanging on to my HH4 for a while, just in case.
 

Rory

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Joined
Mar 12, 2005
Messages
7,367
Location
Cheshire, UK
Car
C270CDi Estate (late 2004 facelift model)
I have an HH6 for a few months now and it's been completely stable since I separated the 2.4GHz and 5GHz networks onto two SSIDs. Before that the WiFi would drop out every few days.

On our HH5 I disabled 5Ghz completely as it would try and hang on to 5Ghz and not switch to 2.4 as people moved away from the hub. It's worked fine since then and not seen any performance issues.
 

camerafodder

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 15, 2007
Messages
2,529
Location
South Lakes (UK) and Colorado
Car
VW Touareg V6 Altitude, Toyota IQ2
When we left BT 3 months ago after years of appalling service, both telephone and broadband. I took the two routers down to the range and used them for target practice...very satisfying!
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom