C180 Auto Sport (W202?) blog

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

nebulaman

Car
C200k (2001)
I am a total beginner when it comes to cars. When I see a car I like I go to the various forums to seek out reviews and potential pitfalls. I noticed though that when I researched the C180 the very little I could find for novices was not very positive and was often just scoffing by those who could afford to run the more premium models. I have just decided to purchase a M reg (1995) C180 Auto Sport and so I would like to start a totally unbiased account of my experiences and any problems I encounter on the way. I hope this will help anyone in future make an informed opinion on the C180. I pick her up on Friday so I will let you know how it goes! I shall report on the test drive and the condition she was found in later on.

The early 202's were good little cars, although not that heavy on toy's usually. It's good to have gone for an auto box (generally solid as a rock). The 180 isn't super powerful, but will get you comfortably from A to B with no problems.

Rust could be an issue - very common problem with 202's of all ages. Yours is a pre facelift, so has the original bumpers/interior no doubt. No real difference other than everything will probably be more square in appearance instead of curvy.

Sport IIRC means stiffer suspension than normal, not sure what else though.

Thanks Mercfanuk. That is just the kind of reply I am looking for. It reassured me to exactly what type I have got.

I saw the car advertised on the internet at a local trader. I was put off by the external colour (Metallic aqua blue) and the interior (cream leather) but I was looking for a car that works so the aesthetics were a low priority. The car was advertised as follows:

MERCEDES-BENZ C180 Sport, 4 Doors, Automatic, Saloon, Petrol, 1995, 145,699 miles, Blue. Metallic Paint, Cream Leather Seats, Radio CD, Alloy Wheels, Electric Windows, Automatic..... Price £995