C43 harmonic balancer failure

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

b16ray

Car
C43
Morning guys and gals,

I have searched for ths problem and couldn't find an answer, if there is a thread or post, please let me know.

Despite working on cars, i'm no mechanic so i apologise for the lack of exact technical description etc...

Here goes, after investigating a problem yesterday (ATF cooler leaking), i saw oil on the under tray, so dropped it down and tried to see where it was coming from. Having driven the car very little this year, i ws expecting a few probs where things are tired etc..... I knew of the C43'shaving a problem whereby the crank pulley wobbled and started eating into the front of the engine.

To say i was gutted would be an understatement. I love this car and have spent a lot of time, sweat, blood in restoring it to its rightful glory.

I could only see the bottom third of the pulley as it was on the floor, but i could see quite clearly a nice circular groove that had been milled into the engine. From my basic knowledge (and a tech friend at dealer) i think its the sump and possibly a second sump that are the damaged.

I know that until i have it stripped out a little, i won't know the full extent of damage, but at the moment, i'm trying to weigh up whether i am going to concentrate on repairing the problem, or concentrate on breaking it and then repair the engine lastly.

If anyone has experience of same problem or any links of similar probs etc, please help!

Thanks
Ray

I have had this a few times. Take a pic so I can see how bad the damage is.

If it is is bad a new front cover and sump is required.

Hopefully there's a pic attatched? :eek:

This is the best pic i have of it i'm afraid, i know it doesn't show a lot, but it does show oil leaking from above one of the bolts.

Any help advice extremely appreciated. :)

Attachments

• 379545_10150455103192092_513907091_8538840_1911787628_n.jpg