C63 2012 Query (Newbie buyer)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

C63Sean

Car
Currently a winter Hack but looking at C63 PPP
Afternoon Hi

Newbie here, first post so be gentle!

I've been lusting and saving for a C63 for some years now and finally find myself in the position to buy one. I've found one for sale which meets my desired criteria perfectly. Estate, Red, Black interior, PPP, low mileage and price not far off where it needs to be. Condition, history and viewing aside it'll do the trick. I'm off there tomorrow afternoon.

Of course prior to buying I'm doing my research and have a couple of questions for you knowledgeable lot.

Firstly, when I type the reg into a number of places to get info back It comes back as a Merc C63 AMG DR520. As far as I know it's not a DR520 as they only made a tiny number. Any reason why this would be the case?

Secondly, the last MOT (2018) showed an advisory for worn brake discs. Since then it's done 7k miles. I'm aware of the potential cost and various 2 piece, 1.5 piece disc options and various codes that are associated with the VIN (which I don't have yet). What I'm struggling to find is a place to actually price up a set of discs and pads other than calling the MB dealer. Where are you buying from? I've looked on EuroCarParts and found ~£690 for a set. Obviously If they are still the same discs then I can negotiate the price around them.

Thirdly, I'm aware that the LSD was an option with later PPP. Can I check physically on vehicle (without doing a burnout off the forecourt) what is fitted? I'll grab the VIN when I view it and double check that way too.

Lastly, research tells me that the engine intake is a different shade of grey on PPP cars, having not seen either grey can someone post a picture compare so I know what to check for? Google images hasn't turned up anything.

Many Thanks in advance