C63 Coolant Leak

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Bozman

Car
C63 AMG
Hi everyone,

Newbie here and am looking for some help / advice.

I bought a 2013 plate C63 with 30k miles on the clock from MB approved used just over 2 years ago. About 9 months in i had the coolant level warning appear on the dash, the car was under warranty so i took it back to the dealer, they couldn't find anything wrong with it, topped up the levels and that was that.

Fast forward another 6 months and the light reappears, it goes back to MB who investigate, pressure test and still find nothing wrong, albeit the levels have dropped again which is topped back up. Im advised if it happens again then to bring it back in. The car has been serviced by MB since owning it, since owning it i have only covered 7k miles and not driven the car hard.

Fast forward to now, the car is out of warranty and the light reappears, subsequent investigation results in them finding

Coolant leaking through timing case, requires complete engine strip down to gain access to timing case

Re-seal timing case dependant on findings once strip down has commenced

Air Con Condenser replacement

Alternator belt replacement

Water pump and housing replacement

The above works are going to cost £6.5k, £4.5k of which relates to the coolant leak. I have bitterly argued that this has to be the same issue that occurred twice under warranty, they are arguing that they investigated both previous times and found nothing wrong, my counter argument is because they didn't find the fault it doesn't mean it didn't exist, engine coolant does not just evaporate and it clearly in my view its the same issue. They didn't even correctly identify the real cause when initially investigating this time around as they thought it was something else, it was only when they started to pull the car apart to fix it they found the real issue deeper in the engine.