Can anyone suggest how I can move forwards with this problem?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

hamster8

Car
Mercedes A150 manual
A number of months ago, I had a clonking sound coming from somewhere under the front end of my 2006 A150. It seemed to start off on the driver's side, but now is much worse, and non-specific regarding sides. I am no mechanic and I have to rely on garages to fix things for me. Initially, I had the car checked underneath to make sure it was safe, and that it wasn't a damaged coil spring for example. I was forced to leave the noise to get bad, because often with noises, garage employees can sometimes be a bit deaf and struggle to hear it. At the first garage, they heard it alright, but couldn't figure out where it was coming from. They assured me that everything was all safe underneath with no visible problems. So, I had to have some other jobs done, so I took it to a different garage, where I have known from past experience, that they are good at fixing difficult problems. They did all the routine jobs but told me they couldn't find the source of the clonking noise. In desperation I decided that I would bite the bullet, and book the car into a Mercedes main dealer. I knew it would be expensive, but could never have foreseen that even they gave the car back to me unfixed. Where do I go now? I have to get this situation resolved. Very disappointed.

Not much help but if the main dealer plus two other garages cant find anything wrong then there cant be anything serious as i am sure they have found something, if there was , to drum up some business.

If it has passed its MOT without the tester finding anything then i would just do your best to ignore it, as difficult as that would be , for me anyway.