Can you copy sat nav disk?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Marquisofraspberry

Car
C270 cdi Estate 2002, C220 cdi Estate 2004
As the title says. I bought an E320 which has command nav, sadly within a short while of ownership the gearbox has failed and the car is being returned to the dealer. I've sourced another car but it appears the sat nav disk is missing, so can I copy my current one and insert the copy into the new car?
Not sure if both nav units are the same, they look the same, sorry Merc newbie.

I'm no expert but as far as im aware you need to be really careful with copied DVDs.
They can brick the whole Comand unit leaving it pretty much useless.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

What was the model year of the original car and the model year of it's replacement?
Why copy it? Just try the original disc, it'll work or it won't depending on COMAND version.
Generally COMAND unit don't like reading copied discs...

What was the model year of the original car and the model year of it's replacement?
Why copy it? Just try the original disc, it'll work or it won't depending on COMAND version.
Generally COMAND unit don't like reading copied discs...
2005 E320, 2002 C270
The E320 is being returned to the dealer as it's gearbox has let go within their returns policy, and I can't steal the DVD.

If you want to try anything, copy the disc using a quality blank DVD and set the copy speed at the lowest you can (based on my experience with copied CD's in car CD players) and try the copy in the old car to see if it works! If it does you can decide which disc you leave in the old car when you part with it....:oops::oops::D

As said (and from what I've read), the COMAND doesn't like copied discs and can brick the system. If you decide to use a copy, ensure it is of high quality and copied at a low speed.