Car stereo survey

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Watchcame430

MB Enthusiast
Car
Previous 1994 SL500, 2001 W210 E430 and 2003 Designo S500 Current 2005 S211 E270
Hi all,
I am looking for some ideas on what is missing from the car audio range available to buy in the UK at the moment?
I work for an audio company with a long history of car stereo manufacturing but currently we produce very little that is sold in the UK. (we focus mainly on home audio)
If you could develop a product what would it be? Design, spec and / or price ...

My view looking at what is for sale in Halfords is a lot of the range seems perfect for a Citreon Saxo but not so good for the more classier vehicles on the market.
Also I am thinking about developing some solutions for older classics pre din.
I have to say I am not an expert on the car audio market or the electronics involved but looking to gain some market insights from fellow car enthusiats to feed in to our product development team.
All thoughts would be welcomed ...cheers

I have several aftermarket units for the sole reason that they have a USB slot.

My main gripe is that most of the units available nowadays are far too complicated when it comes to using basic functions such as adjusting the bass and treble.
I have a Sony in my 210, and just to change these basic controls means getting into a sub-menu. That's a lot of faffing around just to fine-tune a track to sound its best.
I would bet that someone has had an accident piddling around with an over-complicated head-unit, all of which are far more distracting to operate than any mobile phone.

If I had an input in the design of a head-unit, one of the prime features would be a vast range of illumination colours and the facility to brighten/dim these.

Good sound quality is important, and it's good to have a unit that is packed with features, but in an ideal world the basics would be readily accessible.