CarPuter installation in a CLK

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by craigyb, Jan 21, 2004.

  1. craigyb

    craigyb Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    379
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Manchester
    Car:
    Audi A8 W12
    Well, I've fainally managed to get a PC installed into my CLK. I changed the stock head unit for a Panasonic and installed a 7" widescreen in dash display.

    Although these pictures are quite dark, you can see the HU and display, also the Bluetooth kit.

    Craig

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 21, 2004
  2. Shude

    Shude MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    13,915
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Car:
    CLK55 AMG
    Looks nice, is it actually installed in the lower DIN slot?

    BTW I tidied the thread up so the pics were altogether again :)
     
  3. Flyer

    Flyer Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,638
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Car:
    Ford Mustang GT
    Ooh, that looks v. nice. Where is the main box? Any pics? Any problems? Total cost?

    [Sorry for all the questions!]
     
  4. Shude

    Shude MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    13,915
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Car:
    CLK55 AMG
    Justified I think, all we got was pics, normally it's the other way around! ;)

    Tell us the story Craig! :)
     
  5. OP
    OP
    craigyb

    craigyb Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    379
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Manchester
    Car:
    Audi A8 W12
    Mine's a CLK230K 2000 facelift so the DIN slots are together (plastic spacer between them). I originally went with a command system so I removed the spacer for that, but I had such problems with it power wise (TV harness fault apparently) I abandoned that in favour of a carPC which I thought would give me more flexibility.

    The PC is mounted in the boot over the CD changer, I wanted to remove the CD changer and put in in there, but it's slightly too big. I'm using a ChyangFun Cellbox for the PC, it's an AMD XP2000 with 512MB Ram and a 160GB disk. 4x USB2, Firewire, 1 PCI slot and LAN. 6 channel audio.

    I ran VGA, 2x USB, 2x 4 way Audio, 1x 2way High quality audio, 1x 7way multicore, 2x PS2 extensions (all 5 meters in length) from the glove compartment to the boot chnager location.

    I'm currently using an inverter to power the PC, but I'm changing to an OPUS 150W DC-DC psu with automatic startup and shutdown.

    The screen is a 7" widescreen in dash TFT, with a USB touch screen overlay and VGA connections and composite video. It was from DigitalWW for about $530.

    I've housed an IR receiver and Keyboard receiver under the ashtray cover, I intended to put a slimline DVD in there as well, but I didn't realise how the cover worked ,so I don't think there is room now, I will locate one in the Glove compartment along with some USB 1.1 & 2.0 ports. There are 2 USB hubs behind the glove compartment as well. A 4 port USB 1.1 hub and a 4 port USB 2.0 hub. These are for the IR receiver, Touch Screen and DVD rom (USB2 to IDE converter). As well as providing spare ports.

    The GPS receiver will be on the back parcel shelf and connect via serial to the PC. I will post some more pics when I've completed the project, I have a cool Merecedes skin now courtesy of another forum member.

    Craig
     
  6. OP
    OP
    craigyb

    craigyb Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    379
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Manchester
    Car:
    Audi A8 W12
    Here is the new skin that i have, it's way cool....

    [​IMG]
     
  7. OP
    OP
    craigyb

    craigyb Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    379
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Manchester
    Car:
    Audi A8 W12
    As for costs, I have a lot of hardware kicking around from my VanPuter build (that's another story), so I used most of that. The main things I had to buy were the PC and the screen. But here's a rough breakdown.

    7" screen $530 + shipping and import (www.digitalww.com)
    PC £500 including RAM Disk and CPU. (www.scan.co.uk)
    Slimline DVD £100 (www.mini-itx.com)
    Keyboard, IR Cables, HUBS etc. £150 (varios stores)
    OPUS 150w PSU £120 (www.opussolutions.com)
    GPS receiver (USB or Serial) £80 - £120 depending on model
    Software - Mediacar 1.8.5.2 (free, but I donated via paypal)

    New head unit £340 (depends on what you want)
     
  8. sym

    sym Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,336
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Location:
    North London
    Car:
    W204 C220CDI Sport
    Very impressive. More pics please :D

    S.
     
  9. Shude

    Shude MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    13,915
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Car:
    CLK55 AMG
    Ahh, this is nice! I hope to have something similar in mine, maybe instead of a cd-changer (mp3s are much more efficient really!). What concerned me was the power supply, but that one you've listed sounds great! *rubs hands* this has been very helpful, thank you! :)
     
  10. OP
    OP
    craigyb

    craigyb Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    379
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Manchester
    Car:
    Audi A8 W12
    Your welcome to take a look at anytime, I'm in Manchester to.

    As you all offered to show me your command installations, then it's only fair.

    Craig
     
  11. pammy

    pammy MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    7,468
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Car:
    hers - slk 320, his - dull diesel BMW fleet :/, Xtrail, Honda CBR 1100xx, Yamaha YZF600, Ribble Road
    Looks very kewl:D
     
  12. mapleleaf

    mapleleaf Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,694
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    Manchester
    Car:
    2018 Gle 43 AMG Night - replaced previous 2015 E63 AMG
    Nice work Craig,

    I see there is a radio button on the touch screen so does the touch screen actually control the head unit then?
     
  13. Sp!ke

    Sp!ke Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,234
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Location:
    West London
    Car:
    SL500 & The Fart Car
    no pics :( site overloaded

    can someone movem to the pounhost site so we can all see?
     
  14. OP
    OP
    craigyb

    craigyb Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    379
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Manchester
    Car:
    Audi A8 W12
    No, the radio button actually talks to a D-link USB radio, the feature is there but has not been skinned by the developer yet. So it doesn't work.

    Also the "TV" button should be a "Launch" button to allow you to add other apps not integrated into MediaCar yet, but the guy who designed this skin wants his TV option on the front panel.

    I need to do some work to get it back to "Launch" as I have some apps I want to run myself embedded within MediaCar.

    The good thing about this is flexibility, it's only limited by the software skills of the developers and the hardware available.

    Blutetooth phone answering is one of the targets.

    Craig
     
  15. samuelellis

    samuelellis Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    303
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Location:
    West Yorkshire :D
    Car:
    rover 218 diesel k reg (want a merc but cant afford)
    nice work

    hope the one im workign on turns out as nice
     
  16. jaymanek

    jaymanek Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    16,400
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Location:
    Nuneaton Warwickshire
    Car:
    Lots of Mercedes!
    that looks great, just one question - what about security, is it all removable?? Whats to stop someone smashing the window and taking it all while uve parked in a multi storey?

    I ask because thats what put me off doing this!

    Jay
     
  17. Aswall

    Aswall Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    537
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Location:
    South Yorkshire
    Car:
    CLS 350
    Do you have to shut it down like normal computer before you turn the engine off? How will you get TV into it? I've found this forum http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=5 for all those like me who've suddenly had their interest stirred

    Cheers
    Andy
     
  18. Sp!ke

    Sp!ke Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,234
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Location:
    West London
    Car:
    SL500 & The Fart Car
    Wow, I've been toying with this idea for a couple of years now - what a great resource that forum is (just like this one :))

    >craigyb

    What GPS software are you running?
     
  19. OP
    OP
    craigyb

    craigyb Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    379
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Manchester
    Car:
    Audi A8 W12
    Yes, although I've been building PS's into cars/vans for over 4 years, I came across msp3car.com recently. This has helped me with the screen and the PSU sections.

    As for security, the screen folds back into the dash and looks quite plain when not in use. Also the head unit is completely blank when not lit up.

    Craig
     
  20. OP
    OP
    craigyb

    craigyb Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    379
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Manchester
    Car:
    Audi A8 W12
    Obviously I meant PC's not PS's. The TV function is not my doing, see previous posts...
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.