CD Changer - "No Changer"

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by RobBooth, Nov 15, 2008.

  1. RobBooth

    RobBooth New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Hi,
    My comand unit isn't recognising the multichanger and I'm getting a "No changer" message. I can hear the changer cycling through the disks so it's getting power, the problem looks to be the connection between the head unit and the changer itself.
    Can anyone recommend anything I can check / look at to try and pin point or sort the problem?

    Cheers

    Rob
     
  2. lynall

    lynall Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,169
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Kent
    Car:
    The silver one.
    Mine does this every now and then was really bad when i first got the car seeming to lose the changer every time ign switched off, has been okay for some time now, temporary cure is to keep removing the cartridge and refitting it until it works then dont touch it:)



    Lynall
     
  3. maddog

    maddog Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    725
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    there was a recent thread suggesting the fault lies with the plug on the changer , do a search
     
  4. bigbobs cl

    bigbobs cl Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    225
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    Chester
    Mine has just started coming up with a message saying "magazine empty!" Any ideas on that one? (yes it does have cd`s in it!!)

    Bob
     
  5. OP
    OP
    RobBooth

    RobBooth New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008

    I saw a thread with a link to another site which basically had the guy using electrician's tape to keep the optical connector in the changer. Worked for him so I guess I'll give it a go.
    The changer does give a response on wake-up but after that nothing.

    Oh - and I bought a replacement item but it turned out it doesn't have the optical fibre connection if anyone's interested? Brand new, boxed with mounting arm for ML - W163. :)
     
  6. lynall

    lynall Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,169
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Kent
    Car:
    The silver one.
    Rob i rear that post and my plug was and still is tight.



    Lynall
     
  7. OP
    OP
    RobBooth

    RobBooth New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    I don't know what to suggest Lynall, I'm still having the same problem too.

    Anyone?
    Is the changer goosed?
    Is there a way of checking the optical fibre connection? I've read about the comand unit sending a wake-up call and that does work as I hear the changer clicking to life when I do the test.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.