CD changer on W210 E320 Estate

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by proser, Nov 30, 2008.

  1. proser

    proser Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    753
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Location:
    Stafford
    Car:
    W210 E320Cdi Estate
    Hi,

    New to this forum, but can't seem to be able to find the answer by searching.

    I have the Comand unit, and last night removed it to clean the lens and rollers - all works now :) , and found that on the left side there is a fibre optic cable plugged in. Is this for the CD changer ??? If so where abouts would it come out ???

    TIA
    Mark
     
  2. 230K

    230K Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,190
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Location:
    Belfast
    Car:
    09 E320 cdi Sport Estate, 98 E300TD Estate, 99 SL 500
    This should help to show where the Cd changer is located.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Welcome to the forum by the way.

    230K
     
  3. OP
    OP
    proser

    proser Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    753
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Location:
    Stafford
    Car:
    W210 E320Cdi Estate
    Thanks for that, now to clear the rubbish out from there and see what I find.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    proser

    proser Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    753
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Location:
    Stafford
    Car:
    W210 E320Cdi Estate
    I have had a look and found what looks like the bracket for the changer and also a couple of electronic boxes attachded to it, which I think is to do with the phone system.
    There is a optic cable going into the top one (can be seem on the right side of attached pic). Can I splice into this to feed a CD changer, if so how ?? also what about power as unable to find any spare plugs around there.

    TIA
    Mark
     

    Attached Files:

  5. richard

    richard Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    6,018
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Location:
    Berkshire, UK
    Car:
    MY04 SL55, MY17 GLC250d AMG Sport
    Thats the integrated phone controller you can see there

    Have a look round for the CDC power wiring, a small black 3 pin plug, and yes, you can connect things into the fibre optic loom, there are special joiners

    [edit, otherwise you have to run power cable from the head unit. When you had COMAND removed, did it have a C1 plug, small 8 pin squareish plug, thats the one with the CDC power wiring ? ]

    R
     
  6. OP
    OP
    proser

    proser Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    753
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Location:
    Stafford
    Car:
    W210 E320Cdi Estate
    Thanks Richard,

    I'll have another look for the 3 pin plug.

    Yes I think there was a C1 plug in the back of the unit, well there was the fibre optic, ISO connector, GPS connector, and a 4th connector above the ISO which was located and lock in place by a sliding clip.

    TIA
    Mark
     
  7. richard

    richard Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    6,018
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Location:
    Berkshire, UK
    Car:
    MY04 SL55, MY17 GLC250d AMG Sport
    THe lock in clip connector is the C2. The C1 is the small, hard to get out, one next to it

    R
     
  8. OP
    OP
    proser

    proser Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    753
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Location:
    Stafford
    Car:
    W210 E320Cdi Estate
    Thanks again Richard,

    I'll have to take the unit out again to confirm.

    If I don't have the C1 connector, how easy is it to get a loom or parts to get the wiring from the unit to the CD changer.

    Also what parts are needed for the fibre optic

    TIA
    Mark
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2008
  9. lynall

    lynall Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,169
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Kent
    Car:
    The silver one.
    On mine all the fibre optic cables seem to form a ring main ie into one device and out to the next, but using only one plug per device.

    Pretty certian one box is for the phone and havent a clue about the other two:(

    Lynall
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2009
  10. Diesel Benz

    Diesel Benz Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,064
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    Europe
    Car:
    222.132 & 221.122 & 213.050 & 906.633
    The top one would be the phone controller (I believe it reads "Nokia" somewhere) and the bottom one must be for voice control.
     
  11. lynall

    lynall Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,169
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Kent
    Car:
    The silver one.
    DB thanks i wouldnt have guessed, that and yes it has got linguatronic:D so top box is phone, bottom is voice any idea what the silver box behind the 2 black ones is?



    Lynall
     
  12. OP
    OP
    proser

    proser Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    753
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Location:
    Stafford
    Car:
    W210 E320Cdi Estate
    Well it seems like I have no power connector for a CD Change installed. So is this product what I need and is the price acceptable (I know I will need db2 for the changer, but that is the easy part to resolve)




    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.