Change from PC To iMac, help required

Discussion in 'PC and I.T support/Advice posts' started by Benzowner, Sep 27, 2014.

  1. Benzowner

    Benzowner Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,539
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Location:
    Bristol
    Car:
    B180 CDi W245 in Silver
    Hi, I have just changed from a PC Windows 8.1 to an iMac27, transferred all the documents across, no problems, except in my music files. On Finder on the Mac I have 1583 tracks, however on iTunes I can only import 383. I downloaded Vox for Mac and as that is tied in with iTunes, also only imports a few tracks. Does anyone know how to get the rest to import.
     
  2. GLK

    GLK Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,508
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Location:
    Bozeat, Northants
    Car:
    A200 Sports Coupé C169
    How exactly are you going about importing these files? And are they mp3 or a different format?

    You should be able to simply drag any mp3 file into iTunes to get it listed there; you might want to edit album, etc info, if it doesn't come within a particular file.

    If files are not in mp3 format, then there are few more steps ...

    Never used Vox, nor even heard of it. I used TuneUp about 6 yrs ago when I moved from Linux to Mac, but mainly to get the albums artwork - can't stand those empty/generic grey squares :rolleyes: Since iTunes now have the same function, it's pretty much redundant.
     
  3. Giantvanman

    Giantvanman Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,821
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Location:
    Essex
    Car:
    FFRR 4.4 TDV8 Autobiography
    There's this option Download past purchases

    Have a look at FILE-PREFERENCES- /Users/yourname/Music/iTunes/iTunes Media

    They should be there. Then FILE-ADD to library ……….etc.

    Alternatively, put all the PC wma/wmp/mp3 songs on a drive and move them over that way. Simply opening them on the Mac will add them to iTunes.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Benzowner

    Benzowner Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,539
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Location:
    Bristol
    Car:
    B180 CDi W245 in Silver
    Probably never explained myself too clearly, I transferred from my PC to Mac via ethernet cable and now all the tunes are in Finder in alphabetical order and not album order. I am trying to avoid having to drag and drop 1200 or so pieces of music. On other media players I have used, there is usually and option to scan the hard drive for any media, can't seem to find one for Mac. All the tracks are MP3. The other problem is that most of the tracks were put onto the PC either via a CD that I had, or from vinyl via my record deck, so not purchased via iTunes
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Benzowner

    Benzowner Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,539
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Location:
    Bristol
    Car:
    B180 CDi W245 in Silver
    I have now solved the issue, changed the finder from icon to list, highlighted all the tracks and transferred them to iTunes. I am still learning how to use Mac, thought Windows 8 was bad enough :D:D
     
  6. GLK

    GLK Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,508
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Location:
    Bozeat, Northants
    Car:
    A200 Sports Coupé C169
    Great, glad you got it sorted.

    For the future, there's no need to change your preferred view to deal with files: ⌘A will select all files in a folder; ⌘C to copy; ⌘X to cut; and ⌘V to paste into new location.

    ⌘ is a very versatile key: for example ⌘⇧3 will take a screenshot of entire desktop; ⌘⇧4 will let you select part of desktop to capture; and ⌘⇧4 [space bar] [mouse click] will capture the active window ... :thumb:
     
  7. Sp!ke

    Sp!ke Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,234
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Location:
    West London
    Car:
    SL500 & The Fart Car
    The screenshot thing on a Mac amazes me - why is it so complicated?
     
  8. Spin_bowler

    Spin_bowler Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,341
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Car:
    LR Discovery, Audi A4 Avant, Smart For Two
    So true. I've used a Mac for the last five years at home, I still have to resort to Google when I need a screenshot. :D
     
  9. Giantvanman

    Giantvanman Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,821
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Location:
    Essex
    Car:
    FFRR 4.4 TDV8 Autobiography
    I use a little programme called Capture which is easy to use and allow to capture whole or selected part with ease.
     
  10. Sp!ke

    Sp!ke Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,234
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Location:
    West London
    Car:
    SL500 & The Fart Car
    I have a button that says 'printscreen'.
     
  11. GLK

    GLK Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,508
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Location:
    Bozeat, Northants
    Car:
    A200 Sports Coupé C169
    You consider pressing three keys on your keyboard - complicated? :eek:
     
  12. Sp!ke

    Sp!ke Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,234
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Location:
    West London
    Car:
    SL500 & The Fart Car
    Well it can be as many as 4 keys plus a mouse action and ..frankly yes, when I have had a dedicated button on almost every other operating system for decades.

    The @ and # and £ keys are also a frustration, especially when remoting in to another system. Why does Apple not follow globally recognised keyboard layout standards?
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Benzowner

    Benzowner Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,539
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Location:
    Bristol
    Car:
    B180 CDi W245 in Silver
    Never known mine to print screen, had to open another file to find the screen shot, if I remember where I'd put it :D
     
  14. GLK

    GLK Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,508
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Location:
    Bozeat, Northants
    Car:
    A200 Sports Coupé C169
    You have dedicated buttons for every screen capture mode? :doh:

    Couldn't care less, to be honest - my keyboards are US layout, and don't have £ sign on them. It takes considerable effort to bring it up - I had to press [option]3 instead of [shift]3 as on MS keyboard. Oh, the horror! As far as the @ and # - these are in exactly same place as on most other international layouts, apart from UK one ... :rolleyes:
     
  15. spinaltap

    spinaltap Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    274
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Chocolate-Central
    Car:
    A180 Avantgarde (2009) A180 Avantgarde (2012)
  16. Sp!ke

    Sp!ke Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,234
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Location:
    West London
    Car:
    SL500 & The Fart Car

    Print screen for the whole screen and ALT+Printscreen to just do the window. Anything more complicated than that, the built in sniping tool.

    The US Keyboard layout is considerably different than UK and does not as you say have the keys in the same location as other international standards (apart from on Macs which don't follow standards).

    I work in a multinational and control equipment all over the world remotely and having a keyboard mapping that I can pair to the remote server is rather useful. Unfortunately this isn't possible on a mac that has an apple UK keyboard.
     
  17. Deleted96908

    Deleted96908 Guest

    Bit late to the party here.

    For the Mac, Evernote has a good screen grab option (which is stored locally and in the cloud) - plus you can add Skitch separately, which has more features. Skitch is very good, we use it in our TV business and do hundreds of grabs a week which we share round the office and with clients. The archive facility is excellent too, allowing you to reuse grabs from weeks/months ago.

    Other than Adobe CC and Mail, Skitch is our most widely used Mac App.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.