Change of Internet Provider

l5foye

Active Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
835
Location
N.Ireland
Car
ML 300CDI
Within the next couple of weeks, I plan to change internet provider, something I have never done before. Is it a seamless process or can I expect a delay for a change over to take place? I am currently with BT which is ok-ish but is more expensive than others. What has really annoyed me is BT writing to me to offer a 'New Broadband deal'. 'New' with BT
turns out to be the same deal as I had !!!
 

Abcan

Active Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2015
Messages
431
Location
Cardiff
Car
S212 250CDI 2012
I think it depends who you’re changing to. I’ve changed quite a few times. Worse change was from BT to talktalk. Talktalk, in my opinion, are awful. I moved from TT to Zen and that was seamless. Although Zen aren’t the cheapest they are the best I’ve used. They use FritzBox routers which I find brilliant.
 

markjay

MB Master
SUPPORTER
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
28,077
Location
London
Car
W204 C180 Executive SE 2013 Automatic / COMAND NTG4.7 and Morel speakers fitted by www.comand.co.uk
Assuming the Internet is currently provided over an analogue telephone line (e.g. ADSL or FTTC), and you intend to keep it this way with the new provider:

Your new provider will ship to you a pre-configured router (or an unconfigured router, with configuration instructions).

Then, your current provider will issue you with a code, which you should give to your new provider.

This code will allow the new provider to take-over the broadband service on the line on the agreed date.

What you should do then is connect the new router in replacement of the old router on the given day and wait for the new provider to take-over the service on the telephone line. This can mean a few hours without Internet during the day.

Next you will need to reconnect all your WiFi devices because the new router will have different SSID and password (unless you have a separate WiFi system at home, or you are able to change the default SSID and password on the new router).

And last, keep an eye on the bills, to ensure that the old provider stopped charging you for the service.

This is how it typically happens, but there are variations. For example, some providers will dispatch and engineer to your home to install the new router.

In any event, the new provider will give you precise instructions, they have done this many times before. So nothing to worry about.
 

OneForTheRoad

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
2,751
Location
uk.
Car
2017 e350 c207 .. +65 ford kuga 2.0 cdi zetec awd..
Give bt 30 days notice or they will condemn you to hell. Have a look on u switch for deals. Avoid talktalk they are based in india and customer service is purely diabolical. Im with vodafone based in ireland im getting 79 mbs on fibre £26 a month .
 
D

Deleted member 6183

Guest
Within the next couple of weeks, I plan to change internet provider, something I have never done before. Is it a seamless process or can I expect a delay for a change over to take place? I am currently with BT which is ok-ish but is more expensive than others. What has really annoyed me is BT writing to me to offer a 'New Broadband deal'. 'New' with BT
turns out to be the same deal as I had !!!
I’d be pretty happy if the super new deal the same as my existing, it would confirm that my deal was current.
In my experience BT supply better routers than others.
 

pmcgsmurf

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
3,600
Location
Stirling, Scotland
Car
E55 AMG W211, E250 Sport W212, E220 Avant. W211 (and some Imps)
I change every year or two max. depending on contract.
Usually Sky/BT/Vodafone, always been seemless.
Went from Vodafone to Sky last year on their Black Friday deal, £27 all in for 150MB inc. anytime calls, Vodafone were £38 for slower and BT a lot more.

Also get cash back on Quidco, I'd encourage folks to move, should be simple, saves cash and has bonuses like changing home insurer.
 

pmcgsmurf

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
3,600
Location
Stirling, Scotland
Car
E55 AMG W211, E250 Sport W212, E220 Avant. W211 (and some Imps)
I change every year or two max. depending on contract.
Usually Sky/BT/Vodafone, always been seemless.
Went from Vodafone to Sky last year on their Black Friday deal, £27 all in for 150MB inc. anytime calls, Vodafone were £38 for slower and BT a lot more.

Also get cash back on Quidco, I'd encourage folks to move, should be simple, saves cash and has bonuses like changing home insurer.
 
D

Deleted member 6183

Guest
I change every year or two max. depending on contract.
Usually Sky/BT/Vodafone, always been seemless.
Went from Vodafone to Sky last year on their Black Friday deal, £27 all in for 150MB inc. anytime calls, Vodafone were £38 for slower and BT a lot more.

Also get cash back on Quidco, I'd encourage folks to move, should be simple, saves cash and has bonuses like changing home insurer.
Can SKY make BT’s infrastructure faster?
 

pmcgsmurf

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
3,600
Location
Stirling, Scotland
Car
E55 AMG W211, E250 Sport W212, E220 Avant. W211 (and some Imps)
Can SKY make BT’s infrastructure faster?
I wouldn't think they can make the Openreach system faster.

Think it comes down to the cost they charge, where BT wanted over £50 for similar bandwidth claim, Sky were a lot cheaper.

May not be same for me next time as I always seem to get a better deal by moving.
 

Dippo

Active Member
SUPPORTER
Joined
Sep 11, 2016
Messages
640
Car
E220 W213
Then, your current provider will issue you with a code, which you should give to your new provider.

This code will allow the new provider to take-over the broadband service on the line on the agreed date.
Most suppliers now do all the switching work for you. The new supplier will inform the old supplier, and make arrangements to take over the service. Virgin are the exception to this, as they use their own cable network rather than the Openreach cabinets and exchanges.
 

OneForTheRoad

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
2,751
Location
uk.
Car
2017 e350 c207 .. +65 ford kuga 2.0 cdi zetec awd..
N
Can SKY make BT’s infrastructure faster?
No . Just like all other companies they buy lines from bt and charge what they think is acceptable. Its all from bt / openreach .
 

James Copeland

Active Member
SUPPORTER
Joined
Aug 28, 2011
Messages
318
Location
Rugby
Car
C250 CGI Estate
Don't forget to change your E mail addresses as BT charge unless you have an account with them.
 

94mattda

Active Member
SUPPORTER
Joined
Mar 1, 2007
Messages
637
Location
Hove
Car
E220 Coupe, Porsche Boxster
I’m now with BT, they’re not the cheapest but so far the service has been spot on and reliable. We were with The Post Office, don’t ever use them, the internet was not working more often than it was, customer service was horrendous “turn it off and on again and call back”, it was so bad we paid up the remaining 6 months to get out of our contract !!
 

neilrr

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 20, 2004
Messages
6,498
Car
Various.
I'm with the PO & have had no issues in the 6 or 7 mths I've been with them. I will change to the cheapest supplier on renewal, as I do with gas, leccy, insurance etc every year, not because they're bad but because that's how to play this game.
 

Germgh0st

Active Member
SUPPORTER
Joined
Feb 11, 2019
Messages
353
Location
South Shields
Car
2019 AMG C43
Virgin cable for the win :) It may be a bit pricier, and obviously not available everywhere, but I get 350Mb (and I actually get that) and when it goes wrong there's no passing the buck between ISP and BT for the infrastructure, it's always going to Virgin who need to fix it. I won't move anywhere that isn't cabled up.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom