Chinese tyres - truly awful!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

tim.100

Car
202&463
Having seen the reviews, I had decided:
1) never to buy them for a car
2) never to buy a car with such tyres fitted

I then rented a Vauxhall Astra (branded Opel) in Turkey. My first experience with unbranded Chinese tyres. They were bl----y awful, to the point of dangerous. I'm a careful driver, but had to slow down a lot to stay within their limits. They even lost traction when climbing a steep (25%) hill in first. Steering was numb and braking was diabolical - they locked up on a few occasions without much brake pressure.

So the 'internet consensus' on Chinese tyres is right - AVOID.

One day this may change. I recently saw a new G-wagen at Brooklands with Kumho tyres. They were an unknown brand years back, but have realised that its the UK is a competitive market where quality (mostly) counts.

If it's electrical or anything to do with safety I tend to stay away from anything made in China. I value my life too much to put it in the hands of a nation with very little moral fibre.

Out of interest, how did you determine they were Chinese tyres (as opposed to Korean, Malaysian, Indonesian, etc)?

If it's electrical or anything to do with safety I tend to stay away from anything made in China. I value my life too much to put it in the hands of a nation with very little moral fibre.

Posted on a phone/computer made in China, via a modem/router made in China, to a server made in China.

Most things we use/drive/live with have been mostly manufactured in China despite the brand name suggesting something different.

I buy a lot from China for my business (and as such have spent enough time there to be reasonably qualified with an opinion), there are certain areas where you can drive down the street looking at the factory names and be forgiven for thinking you're in Germany.