Clay bar or not

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Mr. B

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Car
Thinking of using a clay bar for the first time on a 12 month old vehicle. It’s been jet washed, snow foamed and had a two bucket wash but b4 I polish and wax it I was thinking about using a clay bar to assist with the overall finish.
I’ve never used a clay bar before so i’ve googled and YouTube’d the process which seems pretty straight forward. However I’ve noticed one or two comments in relation to clay bars causing small scratches due to the contaminants it picks up, even when using the lubricant. Plus some state it’s advisable to use a machine polisher after the clay bar rather than by hand. I’ve seen the Meguiars kit in Halfords which seems pretty decent. I’ve yet to try the Autoglyn tar remover which I purchased b4 I thought about using a clay bar.
Thoughts anyone?

Thinking of using a clay bar for the first time on a 12 month old vehicle. It’s been jet washed, snow foamed and had a two bucket wash but b4 I polish and wax it I was thinking about using a clay bar to assist with the overall finish.
I’ve never used a clay bar before so i’ve googled and YouTube’d the process which seems pretty straight forward. However I’ve noticed one or two comments in relation to clay bars causing small scratches due to the contaminants it picks up, even when using the lubricant. Plus some state it’s advisable to use a machine polisher after the clay bar rather than by hand. I’ve seen the Meguiars kit in Halfords which seems pretty decent. I’ve yet to try the Autoglyn tar remover which I purchased b4 I thought about using a clay bar.
Thoughts anyone?

In my opinion Clay Barring is similar to Tiling, you are either very good at it or effing rubbish!

Have go at something you can afford to throw away or under the door and see if you have the knack!

I'd never clay a car unless I'm going to be machine polishing it afterwards.