CLK 55 w209 advice

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Robert83

Car
CLK
Hi, newbie here who would appreciate some advice please.

After looking at a few different v8 cars, I have decided I now want a CLK 55 w209.

I have viewed a couple but they both seem to have the same issue; where the oil filler cap is, there is oil on the side of the engine in this area, the sellers think this is from the garage being clumsy when refilling the oil after a service, or is this a common place for leaks?
Also, is it normal for a slight tappet sound with the engine on tick over and the bonnet up, and also what sounds like a slight 'hum' from the belts/pulleys?

Cheers, Rob

Hi Rob

I just went out and started mine up. No tappety noise at all. There is a whine on rev, but this is normal, at least with mine and I have owned her for seven years.

The oil can be awkward to fill without a funnel, so it may be possible to spill some. I have not noticed any excess oil in this area. Hope this helps.

What is the mileage/service history on the cars your are viewing?

D

My old CLK55 whined also, but didn't have a tappet sound. It never required a drop of oil between service intervals either

The oil leaking from the cam cover gaskets is common, easy/cheap job to have done.

Thanks for the replies everyone.

D - I am looking at lower mileage ones with history, (around 60 thousand, but one had done 85) the ones I viewed had the engine oil changed every 2 years or before 10,000 miles, I would have thought it should be yearly regardless though?
Also gearbox oil had not been changed, not sure of the frequency of this, after reading on this forum it sounds like it should have been done though!

Cheers, Rob

Mercedes started by saying that the gearbox fluid didn't need to be changed, then decided that something like 40k miles might be a more sensible limit (I could have that figure slightly wrong). - I don't have the service schedule to hand.