clk270cdi overheated engine

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

alf1956

Car
clk270 55 plate diesel
I have a 55 plate clk270cdi with 140k on the clock. I was driving down the motorway when the temp gauge started to rise & went onto the red so I limped to the next exit about 1/2 mile & I just got off the slip road & the engine cut out so I coasted into the edge & lifted the bonnet & there was lost of steam & the engine was very hot. I waited to get towed home for about 40 minutes during which after 30 minutes when the engine had cooled down I tried to start the engine but there was nothing on the key, I also did this a few more times when the engine was cold but still nothing on the key so I assumed that the engine had seized due to the engine overheating but today I got a socket on the bottom pulley 7 it turned quite freely & the belt was turning all the other pulleys so I am quite puzzled now! Can anybody shed any light on this please?

Im no mechanic or claim to have any in depth knowledge but i had a similar problem in a c200 cdi. It turned out to be the water pump leaking.

Hi,
so, when you opened the bonnet at point of overheating, was the engine spewing out water or was it just steam? Hopefully just steam, it might be that the thermostat has seized in the closed position, so you will need one of those on your shopping list. If it was spewing out water, then possibly head gasket and as above a water pump or even a hose.
You state that you tried to start the engine " but nothing on the key ", was the engine seized at that point ? or did it turn over and just not fire?
If it was seized and now free, then you might be lucky, you might be not.