CLS 320 CDI on Biodiesel?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BassAddict

Car
CLS
Hi all, new to this forum! I'm interested in buying my mothers CLS 320 CDI off her but I need some advice...

I make my own biodiesel, well made stuff and not produced half heartedly that's for sure. However I run it in a Golf IV (2002) at the moment and these are fine on it.

My concerns with the CLS are obviously the fact it is an expensive motor and I don't want a hefty bill. It's a 2005 with 44k on the clock and I'd get mates rates if I buy it. A lovely motor it is too. So I'm quite keen!

However I can't bear the thought of paying £1.20 a litre for fuel when I make it for about 13p a litre now.

Main concern - DPF and injectors. I think it has a DPF but not sure if this will be a problem. Anyone know if it's active or passive and how a regen works on it?

Any advice greatly appreciated!

I am no expert, but I think modern common rail diesel engines do not like more than 30% Bio-Diesel mix.

I am no expert, but I think modern common rail diesel engines do not like more than 30% Bio-Diesel mix.

Actually I thought the more modern ones were now supposed to be able to run on 100% bio??

More important, where do you get the wvo - I was thinking of doing this myself, but can't find a decent source.

Also, did you make your own plant or buy one??

Ta

Thanks for the reply tec.

I am also a moderator on the vegetableoildiesel forum (http://www.vegetableoildiesel.co.uk/mybbforum/) and know many people who run CDI's on bio. I'm no engine expert though and no idea if a CDI on the CLS 320 is any different to a CDI on another manufacturers car.

I'm slightly concerned about the DPF and what sort of DPF it is though. If my balls were big enough I'd just do it. Oh and if my wallet was big enough just in case.