cls 350 w210 non airmatic lowering alloys

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

cls350doc

Car
cls 350
Hi,

Been a long time since I posted on this forum, but have been an avid viewer!

I own a CLS 350 W219 non airmatic silver, great car! Had it probably over a year.

I went for my MOT couples of weeks back and found out one of the standard alloys was cracked. This led me to either get it repaired or buy a new different set.

My initial set up was (standard):

Front: 245/40/R18 8,5J ET 28
Rear: 285/35/R18 9,5J ET 33

I decided to go for a new bigger set!

Bought AXE EX18 gloss back and overall the design is amazing, but a few issues, looks wise.

My new set up is this:

Front: 245/35/R19 8.5J ET 29
Rear: 285/30/R19 9.5J ET 25

I'm no expert with cars, but did all my calculations via a site I was recommended on here, and knew the wheel arch gap would be increased, however did not think it would be that much!

Also, I'm not happy with the ET. It already has 15 mm spacers all round, but feel the back can do with sticking out a bit more and front more inwards.

My aim was orginally to get that flush beautiful look of the tyre very close to or even under the arch, but not too sure that's going to happen :(

I've researched in to many options, would really appreciate some advice on this from you:

1. Coilovers: v expensive. Been told 7-8 hrs labour!

2. Lowering springs: H and R lower 35 mm but have read that the shocks should be changed also, but that would be almost even more of the price of a decent coilover kit. Also not sure if the lowering springs would produce that wheel arch effect.

3. Changing the tyres: profile 35 rear and 40 front like before, but not sure. Don't want to go buying tyres without some advice.

4. Advice on ET, at least to know what ET you guys are running through mods would be appreciated.

Your help would be appreciated

Thank you

V

Last edited: