Comand dvd

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Marku, Apr 2, 2013.

  1. Marku

    Marku Active Member

    Messages:
    754
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Car:
    Viano Ambiente 2.2CDI W639, S-Class 450SE W116
    Having damaged the current DVD I was wondering about putting a previous disc in which will attempt to "update" the system. Will it have any unintended consequences by setting it back to a previous issue?
     
  2. Gkinghorn

    Gkinghorn Active Member

    Messages:
    136
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Location:
    Droitwich Spa
    Car:
    SL500 / R230
    It didnt when I did it to my CLK a while ago.... It loads everything up off the DVD ...
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Marku

    Marku Active Member

    Messages:
    754
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Car:
    Viano Ambiente 2.2CDI W639, S-Class 450SE W116
    Thanks I will give it a go. Don't use the satnav much so I would rather not fork out for another disc for a while.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Marku

    Marku Active Member

    Messages:
    754
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Car:
    Viano Ambiente 2.2CDI W639, S-Class 450SE W116
    Well put the old disc in and screen asked (in German) if I wanted to update to the older version, selected yes and now the screen is frozen. Cannot exit even with the disc out, no access to radio screen or cd changer. Anyone any ideas?
     
  5. npuk

    npuk MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,239
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    A180 CDI Avantgarde SE (2008)
    Pull the fuses to reset the system.
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. OP
    OP
    Marku

    Marku Active Member

    Messages:
    754
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Car:
    Viano Ambiente 2.2CDI W639, S-Class 450SE W116
    Well got the system back but it really doesn't like the old disc just sits there. Looks like I will have to buy a new disc but would really like to know if the COMAND is working properly. How do you access the system to check?
     
  7. Gkinghorn

    Gkinghorn Active Member

    Messages:
    136
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Location:
    Droitwich Spa
    Car:
    SL500 / R230
    Are you certain that disc is for your version of Com and. I had no problem going up and down versions. Mine also I am sure came up in English or asked me which language. ...
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Marku

    Marku Active Member

    Messages:
    754
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Car:
    Viano Ambiente 2.2CDI W639, S-Class 450SE W116
    Yes all are correct and all previously worked. The current disc which is the latest got damaged and COMAND would not read it. Tried the previous one and eventually it froze. It is free now and I might have another go. There is a site that gives the access codes and I might try that to be sure that the unit is OK.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.