Comand system disc

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by steam_biker, Oct 31, 2017.

  1. steam_biker

    steam_biker Member

    Messages:
    51
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Location:
    Cumbernauld
    Car:
    W211 E320 sport Yamaha FZR 600 Genesis 1991
    My Nov 2006 E320 CD1 Sport has the original Comand disc in the unit. I was driving over the Clackmannanshire bridge, but on the screen, I was in the River Forth! I am unsure of the discs on E Bay, I don't want to wreck the system, but don't want to spend a fortune. Any ideas or advice please?
     
  2. markjay

    markjay MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    23,603
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    W204 C180 Executive SE 2013 Automatic / COMAND NTG4.7 and Morel speakers fitted by www.comand.co.uk
    Updating the maps disc is never a bad idea, BUT when COMAND thinks you are in a nearby river (or a field, or on top of a mountain etc) then this is usually an issue with the satellite reception, not the maps version.

    I.e., it is unlikely that your old maps incorrectly have the bridge located a few hundred yards away from where it actually is...

    Firstly, when this happens again, check how many satellites COMAND can see. It should see a minimum of 3, but ideally 5 or more. 11 or 12 if a great result! If COMAND does not see the satellites, then you have an issue with either the GPS antenna, or a faulty COMAND unit.

    Two other things that are always worth trying when dealing with electronics in general are (a) pull-out the COMAND fuse in the engine bay fusebox to ensure hard boot, and (b) Google for firmware updates options for your version of COMAND.
     
  3. OneForTheRoad

    OneForTheRoad Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,158
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Location:
    uk.
    Car:
    2015 w204 c class amg sport premium +65 ford kuga 2.0 cdi zetec awd..
    £1 e/w that the sat nav ariel is dead . :)
     
    markjay likes this.
  4. Denis O

    Denis O Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    144
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Location:
    Weald of Kent
    Car:
    SL350 R230
    I read it that the bridge, wasn't built, during the tenure of his map. If that is the case,a trip to your local stealer may be fruitful in getting a later disk.

    I brought a 2017 disk, for my 2005 R230 for £100. Not to bad for OEM.
     
  5. PobodY

    PobodY Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,523
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2016
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent
    Car:
    CLK350 Sport, Nissan GTiR
    As above, I'd assume the map is just out-of-date. - I bought a new one shortly after buying the car, and even that gets confused by the changed roads on the way to Manchester airport from the M6.

    For the sake of not bricking COMAND, I bought from the good folks at comandonline.co.uk
     
    frankbs, markjay and Alfie like this.
  6. OneForTheRoad

    OneForTheRoad Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,158
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Location:
    uk.
    Car:
    2015 w204 c class amg sport premium +65 ford kuga 2.0 cdi zetec awd..
    its bought not brought @-)
     
  7. OP
    OP
    steam_biker

    steam_biker Member

    Messages:
    51
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Location:
    Cumbernauld
    Car:
    W211 E320 sport Yamaha FZR 600 Genesis 1991
    The bridge was built after my car was built. The local stealer is supplying a disc for £100.
    Thanks everyone.
     
    markjay likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.