Comand Update

GlenQ

Active Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2011
Messages
202
Location
Derbyshire UK
Car
2004 W220 S320 CDI
Can anyone who has used the downloadable Comand 2.5 firmware update please lend it to me to update my unit.

I have downloaded the update and despite using two different types of CD's my unit refuses to update. It starts the process, gets to around 90% then stalls even after leaving the process running for well over one hour.

If someone would loan me a known working disk i would be most gratefull. I would of course pay postage both ways.

Thanks in anticipation. :thumb:
 

npuk

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 12, 2009
Messages
4,239
Location
London
Car
A180 CDI Avantgarde SE (2008)
Comand 2.5 firmware would also get updated when you insert a newer version navigation disc.
 
OP
OP
GlenQ

GlenQ

Active Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2011
Messages
202
Location
Derbyshire UK
Car
2004 W220 S320 CDI
Comand 2.5 firmware would also get updated when you insert a newer version navigation disc.
With respect I don't think this is correct. I have a 2010 disk and when I first inserted it some data was updated but I don't think the comand firmware was updated as I still do not have the MB logo on the screen when I turn the unit on. Can anyone confirm this?
 

Alfie

Authorised Forum Sponsor
SUPPORTER
Joined
May 5, 2004
Messages
7,921
Location
Surrey/Cotswolds
Car
W169 A, W205 C, W451 smart
Can anyone who has used the downloadable Comand 2.5 firmware update please lend it to me to update my unit.

I have downloaded the update and despite using two different types of CD's my unit refuses to update. It starts the process, gets to around 90% then stalls even after leaving the process running for well over one hour.

If someone would loan me a known working disk i would be most gratefull. I would of course pay postage both ways.

Thanks in anticipation. :thumb:
You need to use a genuine disk. If you use a copy and it stalls during phase two of the update it will render your comand unit absolutely useless.

The firmware update should give you the STAR logo. When a new navigation disk is inserted the Navigation software is updated as NPUK says.
 
OP
OP
GlenQ

GlenQ

Active Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2011
Messages
202
Location
Derbyshire UK
Car
2004 W220 S320 CDI
You need to use a genuine disk. If you use a copy and it stalls during phase two of the update it will render your comand unit absolutely useless.

The firmware update should give you the STAR logo. When a new navigation disk is inserted the Navigation software is updated as NPUK says.
Thanks, I have read of owners sucsessfully doing the firmware update using the downloaded file burnt to good quality CD's.

I suppose the chance of getting hold of an original will be slim at best.
 

Alfie

Authorised Forum Sponsor
SUPPORTER
Joined
May 5, 2004
Messages
7,921
Location
Surrey/Cotswolds
Car
W169 A, W205 C, W451 smart
Thanks, I have read of owners sucsessfully doing the firmware update using the downloaded file burnt to good quality CD's.

I suppose the chance of getting hold of an original will be slim at best.
An original one is £20 from our online shop.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom