COMMAND CDs

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by MattCox, Feb 15, 2009.

  1. MattCox

    MattCox Active Member

    Messages:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Location:
    Over there
    Car:
    C180 Coupé Sport
    Just a quick one,

    Are COMMAND nav CDs universal or do i have to get one specific to my system?

    Also, if anyone has updated and wants to sell the old CD, let me know! Needs to have Ireland map. :)

    Cheers, Matt
     
  2. OP
    OP
    MattCox

    MattCox Active Member

    Messages:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Location:
    Over there
    Car:
    C180 Coupé Sport
    Anyone?
     
  3. Chattonmill

    Chattonmill MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Car:
    S211 E55 AMG
    The CD's are specific, so it depends on someone having the correct one for yours.
     
  4. verytalldave

    verytalldave MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,595
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Location:
    Bromley, Kent
    Car:
    W203 C200K Cubanite
    Chattonmill is spot-on.
    The nav disks are model and year specific.
    For example, I have a W203 2004 facelift.
    The CD for mine runs from 2004 to 2007 when the W204 replaced the W203. The W204 uses a different disk, as does earlier versions of the W203.
    Its all very confusing.
     
  5. verytalldave

    verytalldave MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,595
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Location:
    Bromley, Kent
    Car:
    W203 C200K Cubanite
    What year/month is your car?
    Is it a W203 or a W204?
    Is it pre or post facelift?

    And just one further nit-picky point............

    Its actually COMAND not COMMAND.

    http://www.comand.co.uk/



    The latest version for my car is V10 and will cost you the thick end of £200.

    However, you can go onto fleabay and buy older versions much cheaper.

    V6.3 is very good and can now be bought for circa £40.

    Make sure you buy an ORIGINAL MB disk.......NOT a copy.

    Copies dont work despite what you may be told or informed.

    ..............that is of course....Depending what your car is.......
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2009
  6. OP
    OP
    MattCox

    MattCox Active Member

    Messages:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Location:
    Over there
    Car:
    C180 Coupé Sport
    Its a 2001 W203 Coupé. Not sure if its pre or post face lift.

    This is it:
    [​IMG]
     
  7. verytalldave

    verytalldave MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,595
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Location:
    Bromley, Kent
    Car:
    W203 C200K Cubanite
    Its a pre-facelift W203. Facelift happened about 04/2004.

    Just had a quick trawl ont fleabay..............

    And I reckon this should work in your car..............

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Tele-Atlas-BLAUPUNKT-United-Kingdom-Ireland-2008-DX_W0QQitemZ260326824003QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_CE_GPS_Accessories_Software_ET?hash=item260326824003&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1689%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318

    According to the seller. it will work in W203 between 07/1999 to 11/2004 (I think this is a typo - I think it should read 07/1999 to 11/2003).
    But check with the seller first for specifically your car/model and year.

    However, its totally your responsibility to ensure it will work in your car, and I offer this advice in good faith only.
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2009
  8. verytalldave

    verytalldave MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,595
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Location:
    Bromley, Kent
    Car:
    W203 C200K Cubanite
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2009
  9. gilbem

    gilbem New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
  10. verytalldave

    verytalldave MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,595
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Location:
    Bromley, Kent
    Car:
    W203 C200K Cubanite
    I think the difference is that the first link is for COMAND based systems whereas the second link is for Audio 30 APS based systems (they are not the same nor compatible with each other).
    Choosing which disk/system is correct for your particular car is a potential minefield and needs careful selection. Its not only vehicle specific but also year specific as well.
    What model car/year and navigation system do you have?
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2009
  11. Alfie

    Alfie Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    7,772
    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Location:
    Surrey/Cotswolds
    Car:
    W169 A, W205 C, W451 smart
    The disk you need is the 2008/2008 UK/Ireland DX with ITIS (TMC) disk.

    Costs circa £113 and comes with a disk of the major roads of western europe included.
     
  12. Barney9304

    Barney9304 Active Member

    Messages:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Car:
    W163 270 cdi, W211 E220CDI, W220 320 CDI
    Hi Alfie, sorry to hijack the thread can you check your emails please?
     
  13. crockers

    crockers MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    7,099
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Location:
    North Wilts
    Car:
    XC60 MY2014 SeLux Nav plus lot and lots of toys...

    Dave

    Just yet another nit-picky point --- its a DVD on your system...:D:D:D
     
    1 person likes this.
  14. gilbem

    gilbem New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
  15. Alfie

    Alfie Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    7,772
    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Location:
    Surrey/Cotswolds
    Car:
    W169 A, W205 C, W451 smart
    That Comand unit is from a G-Wagon as its a W463 unit. THESE DO NOT WORK IN A W203 Pre facelifted car unless they are modified internally or a separate speed pulse is found and wired into them. Its certainly not plug and play. Despite them being the same shape etc.

    Sorry to labour that point but so many people seem to buy a 463 part number thinking it will go straight into their W203/W209.

    The equivalent w203 unit (A203 part number) would usually have the latest My01 update on it as these came out after MY01 was released. The teleatlas disks that are now available do have TMC on them as standard. All you need to do to enable it on a Comand 2 system is to set the TMC source to be the free one in the Settings menu.

    So to answer your question, the latest disk will almost certainly give you TMC without needing anything else to be done.
     
    1 person likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.