Command has lost it!

lh49

New Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2007
Messages
17
Location
North Herts UK
Car
C43 Coupe W205
Today I started up my W203 C-class ('56) and both the on-board computer and command seemingly started up normally (they both came on with the usual info, the radio works etc). However, they no longer talk to each other. The buttons on the steering wheel dont do anything for command (volume radio etc). The Audio section on the on-board computer just says "--------", as does the nav (and navigation on command works, but it cant find a GPS signal, so its pretty useless). The ipod integration also doesnt work, clearly the same problem.

I havent done anything, other than not drive it for a week... Does anyone know why this would happen, or importantly, a fix? Should i disconnect the battery for a bit?

Thanks!
 

richard

Authorised Forum Sponsor
SUPPORTER
Joined
Jun 10, 2002
Messages
6,340
Location
Berkshire, UK
Car
MY04 SL55, MY18 GLC63s
Id pull the fuse for the COMAND , wait 20 seconds and re-insert it.

The cluster is just reading from the car's network so the fact that its doing other functions properly means its probably not that end that is not communicating (although it is technically possible it has forgotten some configuration).

Does the radio turn on/off with the ignition ? Again, same connection used for that function as with talking to/from the instrument cluster / steering wheel controls

Cheers

Richard
 
OP
OP
L

lh49

New Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2007
Messages
17
Location
North Herts UK
Car
C43 Coupe W205
i'll try the fuse thing tonight, thanks for the advice.

As for the radio, nope. Actually what happens is you always have to switch command on manually. then, even while driving, after a while a box pops up and says "please turn the ignition on or command will go to sleep in 3 minutes", which true to its word it does.

Hoping the fuse trick works......
 

richard

Authorised Forum Sponsor
SUPPORTER
Joined
Jun 10, 2002
Messages
6,340
Location
Berkshire, UK
Car
MY04 SL55, MY18 GLC63s
Ok, so the radio is not talking on the car's network (CANbus). Lets see what the fuse thing does.

Richard
 

airportstar

Active Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2009
Messages
96
Location
London
Car
W212 E220CDI SE & W211 E320 CDI with AMG goodies
I had the exact same issues on my w211. If pulling the fuse docent do the trick, disconnect the battery. I'm sure it is the battery running low causing the command to malfunction.
 

Rory

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Joined
Mar 12, 2005
Messages
7,406
Location
Cheshire, UK
Car
C270CDi Estate (late 2004 facelift model)
I had the exact same issues on my w211. If pulling the fuse docent do the trick, disconnect the battery. I'm sure it is the battery running low causing the command to malfunction.

...be careful of doing that in a W203 - disconnecting the battery seems to cause all sorts of issues and there are loads of reports of one of the SAMs (signal acquisition modules) blowing on re-connect.
 
OP
OP
L

lh49

New Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2007
Messages
17
Location
North Herts UK
Car
C43 Coupe W205
Thanks all - pulled the fuse, depressingly didn't fix it. Was definitely the right fuse for command.

Given the different opinions on pulling off the battery, perhaps my best bet is to take it to our local indie mercedes garage ... unless anyone has any other final wisdom.

thanks everyone for help, am desperately hoping this wont end in needing to buy and install a new command :(
 

Gooner

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2010
Messages
13
did you ever manage to solve this problem? its currently happening to me on a w203 coupe i have pulled the comand fuse out (number 64), no luck and have heard of all the stories about disconnecting the battery so id rather not... or does anyone else have any other ideas??
 
OP
OP
L

lh49

New Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2007
Messages
17
Location
North Herts UK
Car
C43 Coupe W205
yeah, sorry i meant to update the thread. so they had it in for days trying to work out what the problem was, and in the end it was the ipod kit. for some reason that was the problem, they replaced it with a new kit and everything's back working perfectly.

my kit was only 18 months old, but i guess when its gone its gone.

was a few hundred quid with time, the kit and fitting, but given i was facing £2500+vat for a new command, was quite ok with that in the end!

good luck.
 

Gooner

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2010
Messages
13
thanks for the reply.. I dont have the ipod kit so Im not sure what my problem could be,?dont really want to go to the dealer, only as a last resort
 

MASSIMOSTI

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
33
Car
w203 C280 Estate
Hi LH49

I have similar problems on my W203 - radio turns on /off intermittently.

I also have an ipod kit. Did the mechanic confirm what was wrong with the kit?
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom