Command Sat Nav Questions

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Waynedalf, Jan 10, 2019.

  1. Waynedalf

    Waynedalf New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2019
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Car:
    W213
    Hi All,

    I bought a W213 recently and it came with the command sat-nav.

    I have a couple of questions that I can't find the answers to anywhere else so I'm hoping you can help.

    One of the options is to turn on/off the satallite map.
    I can't see what this does. I notice no difference on screen.
    The manual just says that there is a button to turn it on or off but it doesn't explain what it is so I know whether I want it on or of.
    Any ideas?

    Secondly, when using a Mercedes loan car today, I noticed that the sat nav was showing some buildings. Mine doesn't do that.
    I'm assuming it's an option in the menus somewhere but I can't find it. It doesn't appear when I press the 3D map option.
    Any ideas?

    Many thanks in advance.
     
  2. Riva811

    Riva811 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    391
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    CL500 Blueefficiency
    Turning off should switch off the display. My car has a physical button. I don't see how your can switch it back on without a physical button.
    Buildings is 3d Map mode

    Sent from my H8116 using Tapatalk
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Waynedalf

    Waynedalf New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2019
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Car:
    W213
    Thanks Riva811.
    I don't mean that I am switching the sat nav on/off without a button.
    What I'm referring to is an option within the sat nav for something called 'satellite map'.
    I don't know what this is and how it is different to the normal sat nav map.
     
  4. harlex

    harlex New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2019
    Location:
    Gidea Park UK
    Car:
    Mercedes E220 Formatic
    There is plenty wrong with NTG 5.5 Against the old W212 model.
    There is no audible only visual advice of any traffic problems ahead of you, the max info you get is “you are now in a tailback” useless. 3G only that is now ancient and I have just found out you cannot add speed cameras via SD update.
    If I had known this I would have kept my old E300

    My vehicle is E220 Formatic Nov 2017 build Purchased June 2018 new.
     
  5. Rorywquin

    Rorywquin Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Car:
    Facelift SL400 AMG Line
    Have you subscribed to "traffic"?. I think mine (March 2017 model) has NTG5.5 and I get traffic audible and visible warnings well in advance, as well as rerouting options to avoid the traffic!
     
  6. harlex

    harlex New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2019
    Location:
    Gidea Park UK
    Car:
    Mercedes E220 Formatic
     
  7. harlex

    harlex New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2019
    Location:
    Gidea Park UK
    Car:
    Mercedes E220 Formatic
    The map will show buildings with 3D enabled. It will show mainly in large cities London it works
    m
     
  8. harlex

    harlex New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2019
    Location:
    Gidea Park UK
    Car:
    Mercedes E220 Formatic
    Thanks for your reply, I am connected via Mercedes Me Portal to Traffic. For the first 6 months of having the car I was onto MB and at factory level they said it will say “you are in a tail back”
    I have not bothered to be Wi-fi connected as I already have 3 Vodaphone accounts and don’t need Wi-fi in the car.
    If you could send some setting pics I can compare my settings with yours.
    Harvey
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.