Command Upgrade - SL600 ?

sym

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 2, 2003
Messages
4,336
Location
North London
Car
W204 C220CDI Sport
Comand Upgrade - SL600 ?

Hi

A Question for anybody who may be able to help......

A colleague has a '99 SL 600 and wishes to upgrade his early version of Comand to the latest version ('02) - he has been advised by the dealer that this is not possible at all - regardless of how much money he wants to spend !!

a) Is this true ?

b) If not, is anybody able to advise who may be able to undertake this ? He has considered buying an SL55 AMG, but for the sake of a Comand upgrade would much rather keep his current car !!

Thanks

Simon

---------------------------------
'99 C200 Elegance Estate
---------------------------------
 
Last edited:

Maff

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 4, 2002
Messages
2,485
Location
Henley-on-Thames
If you let me know which version of COMAND he has i can tell you.

On his COMAND goto AUX menu (AUX sound selction) and then press and hold, mute, 1 and 3 at the same time. Then select versions and tell me what part number it has ie 215xxxxxx or 129xxxxxx
 
OP
OP
sym

sym

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 2, 2003
Messages
4,336
Location
North London
Car
W204 C220CDI Sport
Hi

Apparently, his system pre-dates Comand, and is called "Auto-Pilot" - it has no numeric keypad.

Regards, Simon

--------------------------------
'99 C200 Elegance Estate
--------------------------------
 
OP
OP
sym

sym

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 2, 2003
Messages
4,336
Location
North London
Car
W204 C220CDI Sport
Hi

Apparently, his system predates Comand and is called Auto-Pilot. It has no numeric keypad.

Regards, Simon

--------------------------------
'99 C200 Elegance Estate
--------------------------------
 

fuzzer

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Messages
7,939
Location
Glasgow
Car
F25 X3 20d SE
Firstly , to get comand to even fit , you would have to cut up the dash to make the double din unit to go in.

Other people have done it , and im sure they will give you advice on how they did it.


From what ive read , you should be able to use a comand unit from an ML which does not have CANBUS on it.


OR maybe im just about to be shot down and told im talking rubbish.
 

mapleleaf

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 4, 2002
Messages
1,694
Location
Manchester
Car
2018 Gle 43 AMG Night - replaced previous 2015 E63 AMG
I heard it is a major task to fit comand into an sl , not just cutting a double din hole but behind the console is some kind of metal bracing that needs moving - plus lots of fabrication work to the console some info I think on megacomm.de

but it can be done if enough time, money and energy is applied :)
 
OP
OP
sym

sym

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 2, 2003
Messages
4,336
Location
North London
Car
W204 C220CDI Sport
Thanks all for the replies - seems like the dealer may have been telling the truth on this occasion !!

I don't think he will want to have his dash carved up, so looks like I will have to persuade him to go for the SL 55 instead - such hard decisions to make !!

Cheers,

Simon.


---------------------------------
'99 C200 Elegance Estate
---------------------------------
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom