Concorde. A Supersonic Story.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Many years ago, we moved to a village a few miles east of Bristol. On the day we moved, we noticed a group of people gathered on top of a small hill. We wondered what on earth they were doing but a few minutes later there was this incredible roar and we rushed out to see Concorde banking as it came in to land at Filton for its MOT (or whatever the equivalent is for a plane). Somehow it looked as if it was only a few hundred feet away, and was absolutely breath-taking as it seemed to bank so slowly in the sky – easily the most beautiful man-made sight I’ve ever seen.

Crazy that supersonic passenger flight was gone for good.:(

I remember working on Concorde parts as an apprentice at Dunlop Aviation Prototype Dept in the 60s. As a QA inspector I had to check the components. The one that I always remember was the "snapjack" which was a hydraulic cylinder designed to throw out the emergency exit panel. We worked on parts for 001, 01 and 02.
If these still exist they will have my Dunlop Aviation QA numbers DR090 and F190 stamped on them somewhere.

When I was driving vans for a living, I recall delivering around the Heathrow area on a regular basis. There used to be a daily AM Concorde departure (10.00 o'clock?) which regularly set off all the car alarms on the industrial estates in a 2 mile radius of the airport.
Awesome :cool:

We worked on parts for 001, 01 and 02.
If these still exist they will have my Dunlop Aviation QA numbers DR090 and F190 stamped on them somewhere.

I think only two Concorde airframes have been lost - the Air France one that crashed, and another that was scrapped. The others are all on display in museums etc.

001 and 102 are in France (Le Bourget and Orly respectively), and 101 is at the Imperial War Musueum (?!), Duxford.