considering buying a cls 320cdi

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

biggurs

Car
bmw 53d e60
Hi all
im a newbie here so please be gentle.
I currently have have a bmw 530d e60 and now considering buying a cls 320cdi.
is there any specific things I need to look out for when buying that model (apart from the usual checks)
For example on the bmw diesels swirl flaps were a big issue which would break and get ingested into the engine with those models as was the oil breather filter which would clog up and cause turbo failure.
Any help and advise would be a greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance

Hi, welcome to the site.
I have a 320 and love it. So much so it was for sale now its not :) or is it?
I bought mine a year ago, I had the electroplate in the gearbox fail, this luckily was under warranty at the time or I would have been hit with a bill for over £1200.
Also I had an issue with a glow plug, so had them all changed, this was also by the garage I bought it from £300 under warranty.
Once you have found one, take it for a long drive, at least 25-30 miles, make sure all the gear changes are smooth and it kicks down when it should if it doesn't suspect plate failure, also the glow plug light on mine stayed on, this indicated the plugs are shot. Also mine has the air suspension, this can sag over night, I had mine re calibrated on star, this was only £40 but worth mentioning. Other than that I do like mine, I am in need of an estate really, but cant yet bring myself to part with the CLS

Make sure it has parking sensors as rear visibility is attrocious, they weren't standard and you'd be surprised how many otherwise decent spec CLSs don't have them.

I am in need of an estate really, but cant yet bring myself to part with the CLS

Criminal that they didn't give these drop down rear seats, or even the option when new, as that's all most people need.