Copper Grease

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
T

tanuie

Hi, Am I right in thinking you shouldn't put copper grease on wheel bolts.

From an engineering purist stance I believe that a grease or other substance applied to a thread will not allow for an entirely correct torque reading.

As to if this matters in real life..................... ,well I have applied copper grease to wheel bolts for some years and have not had a wheel fall off or noticeably loosen.

Do you use a torque wrench when tightening your wheel bolts?

Whenever I've torqued down my wheel nuts on any car (using a torque wrench), I always feel that I'm coming up against friction on the threads, rather than a tension against the wheel hub. So I've applied a slither of CG to remove that friction. It gives me another half turn probably before I get to the specified torque. I'm no engineer, just my experience.

I've never had a nut come loose through using it. They've always still been at torque when removing them months later. (If I try to tighten before loosening, to test, I get a click straight away, so they've not come loose)...

As above. Have used a very thin smear on wheel bolts and nuts on every car, regardless of size, as well as on hub face when alloy wheels are fitted. No loosening, no contamination.

As above. Have used a very thin smear on wheel bolts and nuts on every car, regardless of size, as well as on hub face when alloy wheels are fitted. No loosening, no contamination.

Good point re hub, I forgot to add that:thumb:

Grease = change in clamping force so a no no from me. If manufacturers don't spec it for grease then bad idea to do so IMHO ....

No, never. If the threads are clean there is no point putting anything on there, If the threads are poor then there is something wrong.

From an engineering purist stance I believe that a grease or other substance applied to a thread will not allow for an entirely correct torque reading.