D or N at traffic lights - another view

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

philepo

Car
C270 CDI (2004 w203)
I stumbled across a few arguments about whether you should leave an auto car in N or D at traffic lights. I go into N more often than not.

Unless someone with knowledge of what exactly happens inside a g/box when it shifts from N to D can enlighten, I would say that the wear when the car is in motion is drastically more significant than at a standstill.

The g/box is changing gears all the time at anything from 2-6000 rpm which must (?) be a lot more wearing than shiftinmg from N to D.

Cheers.

The torque converter (in my car ) is a fluid drive. Holding in D at traffic lights will have very little effect. I stay in D 99% of the time.

Leave it in "Drive" when temporarily stopped.
That's why you buy an automatic.

Cheers.
Johnsco

I am no expert, so just my opinion and thoughts..

The autobox is coupled to the engine by a fluid drive, no mechanical connection.

Sitting at the lights in D means, torque convertor spinning, foot on brake prevents motion so no movement in gears.

Sitting at lights in N means torque convertor spinning, drive to rear axle disconnected and gears spinning, foot on brake.

Differences are in N gears are still moving, plus you have had to move selector so additional 'wear' as output shaft disengaged.

It's an auto, leave it in D.

I always leave it in D as I'm lazy...:D - but I was once told that I should put it in N incase I was tailgated and my foot slipped off brake and therefore making the car move forward...

But I don't...

I am no expert, so just my opinion and thoughts..

The autobox is coupled to the engine by a fluid drive, no mechanical connection.

Sitting at the lights in D means, torque convertor spinning, foot on brake prevents motion so no movement in gears.

Sitting at lights in N means torque convertor spinning, drive to rear axle disconnected and gears spinning, foot on brake.