David_H's C280 Build Up Project

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I'm new to Mercs, can someone tell me the difference between late & early spec bumpers.

Are the late & early spec bumpers the same shape, but on the later ones they are colour coded rather than 2 tone & chrome.

Also what is the difference between sport bumpers & normal bumpers, are the former wider/smoother?

Thanks in advance.

Finally, anyone know if that hideous spoiler on my car is original or aftermarket, and whether it's bonded on or rivited to the boot?

Will continue to post pics as project progresses, suspension is holding things up currently.

david_h said:
Are the late & early spec bumpers the same shape, but on the later ones they are colour coded rather than 2 tone & chrome.
Both pre-facelift and facelift bumpers can be two-toned or have chrome parts on them. The pre-facelift bumpers have a lower, unpainted plastic part on them that was replaced with a lower skirt/valance on facelift models, although the rear bumper looks basically the same the front bumper has three openings in the airdam - pre-facelift has just the one, which leads me to your next question...
david_h said:
Also what is the difference between sport bumpers & normal bumpers, are the former wider/smoother?
Sport bumpers are basically the same as all the other bumpers except they are only one paint colour and have no chrome pieces on them. The airdam on the facelift front bumper has a plastic slotted-grill in it except on the sport which has a plastic-moulded mesh-like grill.
david_h said:
Finally, anyone know if that hideous spoiler on my car is original or aftermarket, and whether it's bonded on or rivited to the boot?
Aftermarket and probably riveted I'm afraid, the only oem spoiler is the AMG one which is quite distinctive and also quite expensive.

david_h said:
I'm new to Mercs, can someone tell me the difference between late & early spec bumpers.