Debadged or Different

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Herbie

Hi all, I'm a newbie to MB and to this forum so please xcuse this as a dumb question if it is one. I would like to know why some E Class cars say KOMPRESSOR on the offside of the bootlid and others do not?? I have found this to be the case with similar models of similar age and cant understand why. What does KOMPRESSOR mean and are there indeed differences in these cars or are they just debadged? If they are debadged then why does the owner choose to keep the actual model badge on nearside of the bootlid? The example I have is that of 2001 E240 cars. Can someone please educate me? :confused:

kompressor is german for supercharger :D

An E240 will be a V6 normally aspirated engine.

The E200 was available in a supercharged version, and just standard.

There was never an E240 kompressor so if you have seen that combination , I reckon the owner has stupidly added a badge (or maybe, cleverly added a supercharger!!)

Lots of different engine variations!

S.

Last edited:
Thanks Sym - I did see E240 KOMPRESSOR on a 2001 model and did wonder whether this was legitimate. In fact I was tempted to go out and buy one too (a badge I mean :D ) ..... but didn't!!! I guess those that know..know right?? Does everyone consider it to be a big NO-NO????

Driving along the M4 elevated section today, near Brentford/Chiswick, I saw a silver W202 (with a £100 'private' plate!) badged (and not particularly perfectly!) as a CLK 320 KOMPRESSOR!!! :crazy:

What the hell does this guy think he is doing, and who the hell is he trying to fool (anybody who would be impressed with the 320 part would also be aware that it was quite obviously not a CLK!) :rolleyes:

Just about the worst badging I have ever seen (at least the 316 M3 reps and AMG badged W202s are based on the correct chassis!)

Very Sad!

Cheers,

Will

Herbie said: