Device Unavailable

Keithkthkth

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2015
Messages
4
Car
W204
Hi my radio has just started displayed device unavailable. Any thoughts on what it could be please 2016 c class. Thanks
 

richard

Authorised Forum Sponsor
SUPPORTER
Joined
Jun 10, 2002
Messages
6,478
Location
Berkshire, UK
Car
MY04 SL55, MY18 GLC63s
2016 C class should be a W205 (your sig says W204). Something on the fibre-optic ring has failed. Can be Tuner, Burmiester amplifier, or even head unit. If you are anywhere near Lightwater in Surrey, (M3 J3) we (Comand Online) can diagnose it for you. Speak to Becky on 01276 464900 !
 

richard

Authorised Forum Sponsor
SUPPORTER
Joined
Jun 10, 2002
Messages
6,478
Location
Berkshire, UK
Car
MY04 SL55, MY18 GLC63s
Worth adding, that if yours is a W204 (i.e earlier) same thing can will occur if any of the DAB Tuner, HK amplifier, TV tuner, Media Interface (if they are fitted) fails.
 

PhilipC205

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2022
Messages
2
Location
AU
Car
C205
2016 C class should be a W205 (your sig says W204). Something on the fibre-optic ring has failed. Can be Tuner, Burmiester amplifier, or even head unit. If you are anywhere near Lightwater in Surrey, (M3 J3) we (Comand Online) can diagnose it for you. Speak to Becky on 01276 464900

Having a similar issue with my tv tuner function. All other functions including radio and DAB are all working fine on my C205 command system except only the TV tuner function is coming up as "device unavailable". Grateful for any advice you can provide as to what could be the issue. Cheers.
 

richard

Authorised Forum Sponsor
SUPPORTER
Joined
Jun 10, 2002
Messages
6,478
Location
Berkshire, UK
Car
MY04 SL55, MY18 GLC63s
Philip, send me your VIN and I’ll look at the spec. I haven’t seen a UK 205 with TV ! R
 

PhilipC205

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2022
Messages
2
Location
AU
Car
C205
Philip, send me your VIN and I’ll look at the spec. I haven’t seen a UK 205 with TV ! R
Im in Australia so perhaps we have a different spec here. I've spoken to a few technicians here and they advise that the tuner unit, once it fails, can't be repaired. Grateful if you have any insights into whether those units can indeed be diagnosed and repaired.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom