Diagnostic tool for E63 biturbo

Discussion in 'AMG Lounge' started by longman h, Jul 31, 2017.

  1. longman h

    longman h Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Car:
    E63 Biturbo Estate
    Hi guys,

    I was wondering which scanner/piece of software you all tend to use please as I'd like to keep one in the car?
    I was looking at these but thought I'd see if anyone had any first hand experience?

    My budget is around £200 so no workshop machine recommendations please. ;)
     
  2. Alex

    Alex Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,231
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Car:
    S600, E55K & RR 5.0 SC
    For Mercedes there's nothing better than the Star. They are a bit bulky and need a laptop but they offer a lot more than just reading/erasing codes. Double your budget but 10 times more usuable.
     
  3. daveenty

    daveenty Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,288
    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Location:
    NW UK
    Car:
    W213 E63s
    In all honesty, all I use is a little ELM327 bluetooth adaptor in the car, coupled with the torque app on my phone. It picks up and allows me to erase most generic type faults, though anything more serious then the car goes on Star as mentioned above.

    Star is not the cheapest option but it is the best.
     
  4. bob6600

    bob6600 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    5,238
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Car:
    AUDI S8 V10, S210 E320 CDI (R.I.P.)
    If you can stretch it, get a STAR (clone). The C4 has a wireless set up so easier to carry around. Will pay for itself after a few scans
     
  5. bluestreak

    bluestreak Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    377
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    2015 E63
    Where does one get star from?

    Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
     
  6. Alex

    Alex Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,231
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Car:
    S600, E55K & RR 5.0 SC
    Original one is from MB only and with a hefty subscription of about £10k/month if I remember correctly.

    However here we refer to a clone tool which is available for a few hundred quid on eBay/Alibaba/et al. It's an illegal copy of course so use at your own risk.
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. OP
    OP
    longman h

    longman h Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Car:
    E63 Biturbo Estate
    Can anyone help with a link to decent eBay source please? Thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. FateSynchro

    FateSynchro Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    213
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Location:
    Teesside / Cumbria
    Car:
    E63 AMG S / Ford Ranger Hawk 2018 / MG ZT / MG ZR Turbo
    Cant find one either...
     
  9. KillerHERTZ

    KillerHERTZ Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,584
    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Car:
    CLS63 AMG
    Please do not post links to knock off versions on here.
     
  10. bob6600

    bob6600 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    5,238
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Car:
    AUDI S8 V10, S210 E320 CDI (R.I.P.)
    I don't think it's quite that much

    I'm sure Alfie oce posted it was around £8k + some subs
     
  11. JDL60

    JDL60 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,041
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015
    Location:
    Wirral
    Car:
    BMW i8
    I use an icarsoft i980 but they do better versions now. I used it a lot on the SL just to depress myself how much more I would have to fix every month!
     
  12. OP
    OP
    longman h

    longman h Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Car:
    E63 Biturbo Estate


    Yeah I saw an Icarsoft machine when I was searching and it seemed it would do the job.
    Can they programme modules as well or just scan and erase fault codes?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  13. JDL60

    JDL60 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,041
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015
    Location:
    Wirral
    Car:
    BMW i8
    I believe the MB2 can do some basic programmes, my i980 scans and erases only
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.