DMS Automotive - C230K Chipping

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

GrahamC230K

MB Enthusiast
Car
Audi A3 & S4 quattro
Just thought I would share some details I gained today.

I am no expert on tuning, but have made a bit of a hobby out of investigating tuning prodcuts for the w202 C230 Kompressor.

Today I spoke to DMS Automove "Discrete engine upgrades for European Cars" who you may have noticed seem to be appearing in more and more motoring magazine features.

For the most part I am very happy with what I heard, to the extent I believe their claims.

They claim to be able to re-map my '99 C230K.

I reconfirmed w202 shape, old shape c-class, 1999 and the guy was confident say they had done them before. This part I am not sure - but can only trust them that a serial program of some sort is possible.

The part that inspired confidence was that the guy new the Kompressor physically engaged at ~2000rpm and knew that boost could not be incresed via the chip. However, contrary to what I previously believed, he went on to say a remap could reliably increase power by about 25BHP and I forget the torque figures.

Apparently even thought the Kompressor is on a clutch, once it is engaged the engine is mapped so that the power delivery is very very gradual and this is where the remap affects most. Although they keep power delivery smooth, they dramatically increase the low down power by remapping and peak power also increases. Boost remains the same, the engine just mapped less conservativly.

So, I am sold basically.

The only odd part was the guy had wierd views on Dyno's. They have one, but for "development" not customers cars. He went off at a tangent about intake temperatures and cutomers cars should not be exposed to the temperatures repeated dyno runs could produce. I asked if at least an "after" dyno plot could be provided and he agreed.