Does Comand fit the 124?

bloodmoon

Active Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2003
Messages
156
Location
Kettering, UK
Car
C270 CDI Avantgarde
...or is the centre console too narrow? All this talk about Comand, Sat Nav and assorted gadgetry is making me drool.

--
Antony
 

Shude

Hardcore MB Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Messages
13,882
Location
Cheshire
Car
CLK55 AMG
You're not going to get Comand to fit in the 124 dash, it's too narrow under the headunit to get a double-din unit to fit. Try searching for Japanese modded 124s, they love double-din units like comand and it's possible someone has made enough mods to fit something. The alternative is you change the lower part of your dash, swap it with the w201 lower dash section which will definitely have enough room for comand, and is available in the same trim and wood etc as yours. How's that for a radical mod? :)
 
OP
OP
bloodmoon

bloodmoon

Active Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2003
Messages
156
Location
Kettering, UK
Car
C270 CDI Avantgarde
What? Comand fits a 190E but not the 124 series??? How can that be :(

You're right though, that *is* a radical mod. Still, I'm sure stranger things have happened...

--
Antony
 

Tan

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Joined
Oct 2, 2002
Messages
2,900
Location
Woodford Green
Car
W140 S-Class, Porsche Cayenne and Porsche Boxster
Has anyone heard of command being fitted to a 129 series SL.
 

Shude

Hardcore MB Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Messages
13,882
Location
Cheshire
Car
CLK55 AMG
Originally posted by bloodmoon
What? Comand fits a 190E but not the 124 series??? How can that be :(
The w201 has a wider lower dash section than the w124, what can I say?
Originally posted by Tan
Has anyone heard of command being fitted to a 129 series SL.
Nope, but if it has a single din width "cubby hole" under the headunit then it can prolly be fitted, by someone brave :)
 

Surf Blau

Active Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2003
Messages
121
Location
Stavanger, Norway
Car
1984 Mercedes-Benz 190D
I have a Comand in my W201, and I've seen pics of a Comand-unit "installed" in an R129 - the switches below the radiohole was moved behind the gear selector.......
 

Munkee

Member
Joined
May 23, 2004
Messages
59
How much would a comand system like this cost? And how much would the centre console mod cost for a W124?
 

miro

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 1, 2004
Messages
3,444
Location
Sydney NSW Australia
Car
W203 slightly modified
Munkee said:
How much would a comand system like this cost? And how much would the centre console mod cost for a W124?

I read in a German forum that for the W124 you can obtain a speed pulse signal from the instrument cluster but that it needed a sine wave to square wave signal adaptor.
 

Munkee

Member
Joined
May 23, 2004
Messages
59
can you repeat that in english!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Just so u know I'm a bit of a novice but slowly learning!
 

miro

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 1, 2004
Messages
3,444
Location
Sydney NSW Australia
Car
W203 slightly modified
Munkee said:
can you repeat that in english!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Just so u know I'm a bit of a novice but slowly learning!

All I read was this ..........

Putting an APS into a W124 caused all sorts of problems with the speed signal. There were wires but none of them seemed to make sense to the SAT/NAV unit.

So they ended up pulling a connection from the speedo wire but it needed a signal converter to provide the crucial signal needed by the sat/nav.

If the signal is not in the correct format it will not provide the correct function.

Now MBenzNL is an expert in any case and he may have a faster method.
 

Shude

Hardcore MB Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Messages
13,882
Location
Cheshire
Car
CLK55 AMG
Almost all w124 dashboards are too narrow to accommodate the comand unit, you would need to find a taxi-console, or maybe the lower dash from another model such as the 126.
 

miro

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 1, 2004
Messages
3,444
Location
Sydney NSW Australia
Car
W203 slightly modified
Shude said:
Almost all w124 dashboards are too narrow to accommodate the comand unit, you would need to find a taxi-console, or maybe the lower dash from another model such as the 126.

That would make sense. The one I read was an APS-30 install (1 din)
 

Shude

Hardcore MB Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Messages
13,882
Location
Cheshire
Car
CLK55 AMG
miro said:
That would make sense. The one I read was an APS-30 install (1 din)
How wrong was I? The w126 is also unsuitable!
 

Attachments

  • 126taxi.jpg
    126taxi.jpg
    40.1 KB · Views: 56

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom