Dogs

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

jonnyboy

MB Enthusiast
Car
1991 sl300-24 project,s124 280,w115 no interior, w108 project no engine
Right chaps. It seems the resolve of Mrs dog-not-liking Jonnyboy is weakening so clearly I need to take advantage. It is already 3.5 vs 1.5 in the house so I am on the up etc.
We already have two cats who live in the garage and are quite placid. We are under no illusions about the hard work/costs etc. Had a dog when younger and did the lions share of the work etc.
For me, i love the likes of Huskies (love them to bits), border collies, some of the spaniels, german shepherds and the likes.
Being a landscaper I suspect the wee fella will come with me to work, lying in the shade/running about near the van and the likes.
I need some guidance and if I am honest, from a moral perspective I would much prefer to take a rescue dog as i think it is the right thing to do. Sadly, it looks like about 90% of the rescue dogs are Staffys and the likes (which is very, very worrying, especially as in a lot of cases they are advertised as "owner homeless/gone away" - am I being stereotypical?? lol.

Look forward to constructive comments chaps. As an fyi we live half a mile up a private lane with a private park at the end, not far from the town centre, have a decnt garden, I think we would class the area as semi-rural.

I would much prefer to take a rescue dog as i think it is the right thing to do. Sadly, it looks like about 90% of the rescue dogs are Staffys and the likes (which is very, very worrying, especially as in a lot of cases they are advertised as "owner homeless/gone away" - am I being stereotypical?? lol.

Hello Jonny,

We've always had rescue dogs and have found them easily - if you feel you should have one then have a good look around.

Goodness knows, there are enough lovely dogs living on borrowed time without lining the pockets of the dog factories.