Don't Panic!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Steve_Perry, Sep 2, 2002.

  1. Steve_Perry

    Steve_Perry Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,241
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Location:
    Wales, U.K.
    Car:
    CLS350CDI Grand Edition
    Saw these two items on Ebay...

    Both are MB keys for sale, one old style (USA) and the other new style (Canada).

    [​IMG]   [​IMG]

    Am I the only one who doesn't have <span style='color:red'>&quot;Panic&quot;</span> on their key? or are we made of sterner stuff in the UK? <img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':p'>

    Interesting how models vary their specs depending on country.

    I'm going to bed now <img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':p'>

    S.
     
  2. Koolvin

    Koolvin Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,058
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Staines
    Car:
    W168, W169 & S202
    nope we don't get the panic button in the UK
     
  3. Paul

    Paul Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    488
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    Lordswood, Kent.
    Car:
    Ford 2.3 Galaxy
    My wife &quot;PANICS&quot; enough when she drives the car, last thing I need is a button to do it for her <img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':p'>
     
  4. jimmy

    jimmy Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,316
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Car:
    Discovery 3 TDV6, Discovery 300TDi - Plaything!
    I've not got one on this car, but I had one on the Vito van when I had it. Never used it in a real situation but had some laughs with it whilst driving along. <img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':D'>
     
  5. fuzzer

    fuzzer MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    7,939
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Car:
    F25 X3 20d SE
    can we not buy them from the stealer?
     
  6. Koolvin

    Koolvin Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,058
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Staines
    Car:
    W168, W169 & S202
    They won't even know one exists.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Steve_Perry

    Steve_Perry Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,241
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Location:
    Wales, U.K.
    Car:
    CLS350CDI Grand Edition
    I'm intrigued though... Even if you managed to get your hands on one of these US spec keys and got them re-coded to your own car, would your car <span style='color:red'>panic</span> on command?

    I'm sure I've read somewhere that the main ECU is coded so that the car knows what country it's manufactured for. I believe I read somewhere (I think BenzSport) that an owner got his car &quot;re-coded&quot; so that it &quot;thought&quot; it was destined for Norway, that way when he armed/disarmed the car it bleeped as well as flashed the indicator lights. Heh on the other hand I could be imagining things.

    S.
     
  8. fuzzer

    fuzzer MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    7,939
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Car:
    F25 X3 20d SE
    I managed to find the panic button on our cadillac last night &nbsp;<img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/wow.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':0'> .

    If i see a benz dealer , i will stop and try and get a part number for the US key &nbsp;<img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/wink.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=';)'>
     
  9. richard

    richard Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    5,659
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Location:
    Berkshire, UK
    Car:
    MY04 SL55, MY17 GLC250d AMG Sport
    Im pretty sure the dealer just needs to tell the controller with the alarm in in (one of the SAMs) that its in the US or Canada and hey presto, panic button will then be enabled.

    - Ive read that if you reprogram a US C class to tell it is in Netherlands (to get the blip on lock/unlock) panic stops functioning !

    The keys will be programmable

    R
     
  10. Guy

    Guy Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    790
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Manchester
    Car:
    Maserati Quattroporte : Brabus A200CDi D3 : E300TDT
    </span><table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="1"><tr><td>Quote </td></tr><tr><td id="QUOTE">I'm sure I've read somewhere that the main ECU is coded so that the car knows what country it's manufactured for. I believe I read somewhere (I think BenzSport) that an owner got his car &quot;re-coded&quot; so that it &quot;thought&quot; it was destined for Norway, that way when he armed/disarmed the car it bleeped as well as flashed the indicator lights. Heh on the other hand I could be imagining things</td></tr></table><span id='postcolor'>

    Steve, you are right; I had my dealer set my car to 'Netherlands' so there is an audible warning for lock/unlock function. Nothing else is affected. Dead simple, he just scrolled through a load of screens having plugged in the computer, and changed the setting. 30 second job!

    </span><table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="1"><tr><td>Quote </td></tr><tr><td id="QUOTE">Ive read that if you reprogram a US C class to tell it is in Netherlands (to get the blip on lock/unlock) panic stops functioning !</td></tr></table><span id='postcolor'>

    I read the same thing Richard, on the C32 board.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.