Driving too close on motorway

Discussion in 'Driving/Incidents/Roadrage' started by Dizz, Mar 16, 2019 at 3:47 PM.

1. Dizz

Dizz Hardcore MB Enthusiast

Car:
    CLK320 (w209)
    I do quite a lot of driving these days up and down the county in cars vans and occasionally 7.5 ton lorries, Ive been driving for 38 years and consider myself an experienced capable driver, obviously I’m not the very best like a trained police driver, but good and competent.

Someone posted on Facebook the other day asking why there are so many accidents on the motorway especially when traffic is moving the same way and it prompted me to consider the question.

The answer I believe is complex with many factors but mainly it’s simple......People drive too close!

Example
    I drove home yesterday afternoon and nearly crashed my hired Mondeo yesterday on the m40 because a knob in a BMW tourer was arguing with another car and decided to brake test him in the outside lane!! the dominos effect happened (I had enough stopping distance) he then pulled over so as to get along side to remonstrate out of the window whilst the traffic mayhem unfolded behind him, he (BMW) was later observed hammering along in lane two at about 90mph in heavy traffic trying to overtake everyone and make up ground I guess to have another go at the other driver.

Now I can only guess he was being hassled by the car behind him driving too close, he obviously considered he had a fast car and took offence to this, now he was offended but didn’t give a monkeys about everybody else behind and how his manoeuvre was going to effect them.
    I had 20 minutes earlier had same problem with a car (red Mercedes) literally inches off of my bumper trying to force me over I was doing the speed limit and waiting for a gap to pullover into, no point in pushing me I could not go anywhere at that point but I did not decide to break test him because of the obvious dangers with that manoeuvre.